We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not return here, and I dont recommend that you try it.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos

Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos
3465 Portage Road/corner of O'Neil | Open 11:30a to 9:00p Sun noon til 6p, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2J 2K5, Canada
289 296 3999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 449 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Really fresh and tasty California-Mexican style burritos and tacos. Newer restaurant outside of the tourist zone, well worth finding!Everything homemade - awesome street eats. Not a chain... there's only one. Open 11:30am to 7:30pm closed Sundays
Green, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Would not return here, and I dont recommend that you try it.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you have ever had REAL mexican food in your life, do not eat here. If you think Taco Bell or Chipotle are real mexican food and you like those two, you will be fine here. In my opinion this place is terrible, and over priced. On its best day it does not even come close to a low end Chipotle.
Where to start. . .sure the staff were friendly, to the regulars they were friends with and the people they knew. Behind the counter amongst themselves there was poor communication and constant bickering about which customer was supposed to receive what, and how things were supposed to be prepared.
The food. . .like another reviewer stated, the chips and salsa/guacamole are a joke. They're 5 or 6 tortillas about the size of a CD overfried to a rock hard oily crisp with about 2 ounces of salsa or guacamole. For $4.50 this is simply ridiculous.
The tacos were disappointing as well, and the meat was not flavorful.
Maybe all my trips to Mexico and the numerous tacos carts in Akron have spoiled me, with $0.70 to $1.50 tacos, al pastor, cecina, steak, carnitas, cabeza, cachete, barbacoa, and chicharron - but still $24 for 6 tacos, chips and a coke at Frijoles was less than not worth it. I say dont bother coming here, your money will be better spent elsewhere.
I am really surprised this place has recevied so many good reviews on tripadvisor. I understand this is Niagara falls and options are limited and overpriced, but after reading so many raving reviews and then actually visiting and eating here, I was and am thoroughly disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    38
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pork is savory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Nice pork. The guacamole needs some work, but otherwise can't complain. Coming from the US and seeing teens behind the counter, i automatically thought, here comes the 'too good to work here' attitude. Not the case. The service was very helpful and even made recommendations.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Even Steve Aoki Loves Frijoles!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

What a fantastic place. All the staff are just so friendly, the service is wonderful. The food is indescribably flavorful. Pork Carnita ftw. The wide arrangement of topping and sauces is so accommodating for every customers taste. The TacoBag aka Fry-Bag is the stoners dream. Every chance i get to stop by Frijoles just makes my life that much happier. Who knew something as simple as a burrito or taco could make such a huge impact on someone!

ALSO, STEVE AOKI (world famous DJ) WENT TWO DAYS IN A ROW!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“fast and authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Great mexican food, good service, great selection, best Mexican in Niagara Falls, good selection of Hot Sauce to try as well, can't wait to return

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great service and delicious food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had this on our list of restaurants to try while in Niagara. The only Disappointment was actually trying to find it. We stayed at the four points sheraton on fallsview blvd and the portage road we sawnaround there didn't lead us to where we needed to be.

We accidentally stumbled on the road when we stayed for a day at Great Wolf Lodge which is closer to the Whirlpool Falls. When we saw the road we were excited we would actuakky get to try it out.

Service was incredible. My daughter had a very specific request as a picky eater and the staff went above and beyond to accomodate her.

The food was delicious. I too thought it would be like Chipotle which is a favorite of mine but it was actually better.

This place was worth the hassle to find it. Hint: map it before you go.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos also viewed

Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Been to Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.