We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and delicious food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos

Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos
3465 Portage Road/corner of O'Neil | Open 11:30a to 9:00p Sun noon til 6p, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2J 2K5, Canada
289 296 3999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 441 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Really fresh and tasty California-Mexican style burritos and tacos. Newer restaurant outside of the tourist zone, well worth finding!Everything homemade - awesome street eats. Not a chain... there's only one. Open 11:30am to 7:30pm closed Sundays
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great service and delicious food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had this on our list of restaurants to try while in Niagara. The only Disappointment was actually trying to find it. We stayed at the four points sheraton on fallsview blvd and the portage road we sawnaround there didn't lead us to where we needed to be.

We accidentally stumbled on the road when we stayed for a day at Great Wolf Lodge which is closer to the Whirlpool Falls. When we saw the road we were excited we would actuakky get to try it out.

Service was incredible. My daughter had a very specific request as a picky eater and the staff went above and beyond to accomodate her.

The food was delicious. I too thought it would be like Chipotle which is a favorite of mine but it was actually better.

This place was worth the hassle to find it. Hint: map it before you go.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    38
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Chipotle's Northern Cousin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We recently checked out Frijoles in search of a quick Mexican fix. Its not authentico by any means but it is tasty and filling. After reading some of the reviews I just wanted to mention a few things:

Bland- to me the meat had good flavor, as did the corn salsa and sauce. The black beans however were very bland and overwhelmed the other flavors. So if you find it a bit bland, either skip the beans or head to the hot sauce station on the wall by the counter and adjust the flavor. They have everything from Franks to my fave Yucatecan hot sauces.

Watery Sauce/Cream- the sauces/cream itself isnt watery. Its the liquid from the meat, beans and salsas combining with them that makes that watery sauce. Either ask them to drain it well, or learn to hunch when you eat.

Service was great. The owner was taking orders and was super friendly. Overall it was a decent meal for a decent price. The only real complaint I had was they had little/no A/C and not even a ceiling fan to break up the heat. Hope that changes!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We go weekly !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

California style, not Mexico
Many hot sauce choices,family owned, great people,not fast, but its not a fast food place! It's awesome!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best place in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Amazing food. Huge portions for a small price. I make three meals out of one burrito! The couple that owns it are the nicest people and always very welcoming, their staff are just as nice, and always help with a smile!
A great place.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Glad we tried it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stopped here for lunch after reading the reviews and were not disappointed the burritos and tacos were great and filling. It is more like a Mexican subway so don't expect it to be a fancy restaurant. The service was excellent even making sure to call you by name. All the meats were fresh and sauces were tasty. I will return!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos also viewed

Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Been to Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frijoles Fresh Mex Burritos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.