We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Food, Good Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koutouki Greek Cuisine

Koutouki Greek Cuisine
5745 Ferry Street, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 1S8, Canada
905-354-6776
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 451 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Woodbury, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Tasty Food, Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Do not let the location fool you. We almost turned around thinking we missed the place. The building's outside does not do the restaurant any favors. Inside it was a much different story. We felt welcome and well served. Excellent bread. Wonderful salad. The Moussaka was out of this world. The Greek wine the server recommended was ok, not bad though so it didn't ruin the meal. I'd definitely go here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    48
    16
    8
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pound Ridge, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wish we came with a big group....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Or that I was bigger and taller so that we could order more food!

Visited Wednesday night (Aug. 28) with my mother and there were so many dishes I wanted to try including almost all of the appetizers. Unfortunately it was just us so we ordered one appetizer, the gigantes, a butterbean and tomato sauce dish, the moussaka, a layered meat and vegetable dish and biftekia a spiced beef patty and potato dish.

We had such a nice server. He was so pleasant and went through the menu with us and explained the less familiar dishes.

Our entrees came with crisp cold greek salads and a delicious loaf of crispy bread. He told us that the bread is delivered plain from Portage Bakery down the street every morning but is finished off at the restaurant (with olive oil and herbs/oregano). It was so light and crispy and literally came from the oven.

The gigante (giant butterbeans) appetizer was such a surprise. I was concerned that the beans would be too starchy or bland by ordering but they were huge and so good and totally worth it. It is a generous portion and would be excellent for someone who is vegan. The bread was the perfect vehicle for the remaining sauce, so good. We didn't order it, but three different groups ordered the flaming "opa" cheese dish which was fun to watch.

The moussaka was very hearty and and came with crisp tender string beans and a red cabbage vinegar slaw. Really elegant presentation in person and the slaw helped balance the richness of the plate. The moussaka seemed to be a popular dish because two or three women in a large birthday group had ordered the dish as well as the man dining next to me.

The biftekia came with some seriously awesome potatoes and nice thick tzatsziki sauce. What they do to those potatoes to get the flavor throughout, who knows but they were Macklemore awesome.

Location: Koutouki is located on Ferry Lane which eventually turns into Lundy's Lane. From the tourist area, Victoria Ave. eventually turns into Ferry at the corner of Stanley.

It's about five to nine blocks from all the major Fallsview hotels. We wound up driving, and Koutouki has free ample parking lot to the right of the entrance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good food, authentic, hearty portions.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Celebrating our anniversary (41st), I did a little research on TripAdvisor, as Niagara Falls has lots of overpriced and overrated dining establishments. (e.g. NEVER go to IHOP for breakfast in the falls - check the reviews!)

We were very pleased with the meal at Koutouki. Food choices were varied, and many were new to us. The menu just listed entrees and appetizers, so it wasn't clear that a salad and healthy serving of mixed veggies were included.

The floors and walls contributed to a pleasant atmosphere, although it was quite noisy, and not at all intimate.

The biggest reason for missing the 5th star, was the service, rather sketchy. Not terrible,but filling waters- one should not have to ask. But when you ask and don't get it anyway, that is worse.
.
We were served by two servers, neither of whom seemed "dedicated" to us as their valued customer. Really a minor observation, but one that could easily be improved. Again, this is FOUR out of five - VERY GOOD.

I would certainly come back again and recommend. Prices were very reasonable - not cheap, but you get a very complete meal, well prepared.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best of Mediterranean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The best of Mediterranean
Amazing food! Reminded me how much I missed Mediterranean food. Musaka is the best.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our small family went for dinner while visiting Niagara Falls, Ontario. Long wait for our food, uninterested waiter, and the worst, food was not good at all. Greek salad with chicken did not have enough dressing (couldn't taste or see any olive oil), chicken was well overcooked, very dry that I couldn't bite it, and an amount of it was very small. Chicken souvlaki platter just ok, except for chicken that again was grilled toooo long, bread that they serve with salad was tasty, but lacking olive oil. One of the waitresses was having long and loud conversation with next table guests, that was anoying and distracting. This is not what Greek food and hospitality is about. Will not come back!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koutouki Greek Cuisine also viewed

Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Been to Koutouki Greek Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koutouki Greek Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.