We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place if you want to save some money on rooms.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5685 Falls Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 6W7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #38 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Gananoque, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place if you want to save some money on rooms.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Great Staff. Easy to get around without a car. Playing at the casino with a players card gives you free parking (unless you lose then you've paid for parking). Normal parking is $18 a day with in/out travel. Very clean place rooms are small but good for a couple. Rate when I stayed was $79 a night.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    322
    210
    113
    99
See reviews for
406
490
39
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brechin, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

My husband and I were married two years ago, but never got away for a honeymoon. For our second anniversary, he surprised me by booking a weekend at the Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls.
We had stayed over one night the year before and were impressed with the hotel and staff, making this his choice of our stay this year again.
Upon arrival, the staff at the front desk were extremely friendly and helpful.
Our room was on the 12th floor, which takes a bit of "getting to", meaning the regular elevator is taken to the 9th floor, then you must exit, go around the corner to the service elevator and take that to the 12th. The service elevator is quite slow, I wouldn't want to be in a hurry to get anywhere. In fact, once we had to take the stairs as it was out of service (only for a short time though). But remember, staying on the 9th floor or lower you use the regular elevator.
Our room had floor to ceiling windows, perfect for viewing the falls and watching the fireworks on Sunday night from our room.
You can choose to "go green" meaning not to get bed sheets changed and the room cleaned every day, although when we met housekeeping in the hallway, she thanked us for going green and politely asked if we wished clean towels anyhow.
The Fallsview Dining Room has a spectacular view of the Falls. Reservations are recommended. Staff here make for a pleasant dining experience. Even the manager came to our table to ask that everything was what we expected. Food from the menu was very good, but one word of caution, we had the breakfast buffet one morning, and not all the dishes were hot, they were just barely warm.
The Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls is well within walking distance of the Falls and Clifton Hill. Casino Niagara is right next door. The Rainbow Bridge is directly across the road from the hotel for those wishing to walk across the border to the USA.
All in all, our stay was very pleasant, the hotel is clean and staff are exceptionally warm and friendly. Would we stay again if in the area? Of course!

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarkwgriswold
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

This hotel is in a very convenient location, especially if you are interested in Casino Niagara, the waterpark, Hard Rock Cafe or Planet Hollywood. The staff at the front desk are very helpful, but check-in seemed unnecessarily slow. The rooms are very small and the beds quite hard. The beds have way too many pillows, especially for a small room with no area to put them. The entire hotel has signs its high volume and of its age. The TV was old and iffy and the bathroom fixtures and old marble tile are showing signs of years of wear, and the carpet in the room had stains.

In summary, the place is adequate and nothing special. I've stayed in worse. For the cost, you might find a nicer place to stay, and other than the location, this is no better than a 3-star hotel.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We recently spent two nights at this wonderful hotel. The location is ideal to the Falls and many local sights and dining areas. What makes it even more remarkable is the staff at the front desk and throughout the hotel. It is a very professional, yet freindly staff. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome and appreciated as a guest.

The restaurant on the 10th floor in the hotel is fabulous! We had dinner overlooking the Falls that was awesome. The food was delicious and the servers were attentive and friendly . Watching the fireworks from our table was an added bonus!

The hotel is located next to so many wonerful sights, there is not enough time to do them all in a day. We were there two nights and could have used an extra few days to enjoy the entire Falls area.

Reserve a room overlooking the falls and you will not be disappointed!!! This is a gem of a hotel and the service is superb. It is also family friendly with a Water Park right out the door!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Location is excellent. We flew from NYC to Buffalo and took a bus to Niagara Falls (USA) and walked over the Rainbow Bridge. It is right at the end of the bridge - location couldn't be beat.

We booked via the Crowne Plaza general website, rather than the Niagara Falls Crowne Plaza specific website as they offered a cheaper rate for room only that was not available on the specific hotel website. We chose the cheapest rate as we were only staying one night, so we expected no view, but were very pleasantly surprised when our room with two queen beds had a good view over both the American and Canadian Falls. You couldn't beat that!

Check-in was smooth and there wasn't a queue at around 5pm. Staff were friendly and although our room was right across from the lift, we heard no noise at night - without needing to use the ear plugs and sleep mask provided on the bed!!

Other reviewers are correct that the carpet looked dirty, but the beds were very comfortable and the sheets were clean; as was the bathroom. The room was not the biggest we stayed in, but it was fine and the bathroom size seemed pretty similar to most of the others we encountered.

Despite not being part of our deal, we were given a voucher towards dinner in their restaurant, but we chose not to use it. Can't comment on their breakfast either as we just grabbed something from Starbucks in the lobby and brought it back to the room to eat.

Hotel kept our luggage for the day without a problem when we checked out.

Apart from the beauty of the falls, the town is tourist-tat-central and if you know this before going, then you don't expect a high level of sophistication, but the Crowne Plaza was perfectly fine for our stay.

The only real downside was having to pay for wireless internet. Having stayed in 5 other hotels in the USA and Canada during our trip, this was the only one that charged.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

1) Someone charged food to our room (how I do not know!)
2) Returning Home we have been charged $250 for services that we did not use despite having a print out of the final bill showing $0
3) Room was not cleaned properly - previous guests rubbish was still there!
4) Cable TV did not work - had to wait for engineer
5) Paid the extra to have a Fallsview Room, but you can only see the falls if you stick your head out the window!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellleville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I just returned from a two night stay at the Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls with my husband and two children. The only good thing about this hotel is the location. That is what you are paying $250/night for because the hotel is a dump.

Here is a summary of the problems:

1. The rooms are so small that you barely have room for your stuff and we were constantly tripping over each other. There is about 1 foot between the end of the bed and the dresser.

2. The bathroom is small with a pedestal sink so no counter to put your bathroom accessories or anything (they provide you with a hairdryer that hangs on a hook on the back of the door!)

3. Everything in this hotel is OLD. The carpet is old, faded and stinks - in the lobby, hallways and especially the room. The wallpaper, furniture and bathroom fixtures are all in need of upgrading.

4. The pool and hot tub are also very old with mismatched chipped tiles in the hot tub.

5. There are only two elevators to get to the parking garage and waterpark which are crammed in a little corner. There was always a line up and long wait for them with people waiting with luggage, etc. and people trying to get off/on in a space about 10x10 feet.

6. The breakfast buffet ($18.95) is really bad. It is equivalent to what you would get for a free breakfast at other hotels: some fruit, cereal, toast, yogourt, pancakes, french toast, bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs and some really pathetic muffins and pastries. The quality and quantity of this little buffet was not what I would expect to get when paying that price. We didn't bother with the dinner even though the hotel gives you a $40 voucher when you purchase two entrees. We looked at the menu and there wasn't an entree under $25! Most were over $30 and if breakfast was any indication, not worth the price of it!

7. My husband was very upset about the tv because it was ancient with a snowy picture and he had to try several times to access guest services.

Overall, it comes down to this. If you want the location, this is it. You can go to the fallsview waterpark, casino niagara, hardrock cafe, rainforest cafe, and many other things without going outside. Also you are just a short walk down to the falls. However, if the quality of the hotel is important, you might want to pay an extra $50/night and stay at the sheraton which looked nicer and was in the exact same location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview

Address: 5685 Falls Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 6W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic elegance at the Falls. The AAA/CAA rated 3-Diamond/4 Star fallsview hotel is located directly across from Niagara Falls, in the heart of the tourist district. The Crowne features indoor connections to Casino Niagara, Fallsview Indoor Waterpark, and the attractions, entertainment and dining options located on the 20 acre Falls Avenue Resort. A getaway at the Crowne is a rewarding experience in part a result of first class amenities, spectacular fallsview guestrooms & suites, and exquisite fallsview fine dining at The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview Hotel Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.