We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Nice view. Old, small rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5685 Falls Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 6W7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #37 of 137 Hotels in Niagara Falls
East Grand Rapids, MI
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great location. Nice view. Old, small rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Location: Across the river from the American Falls. We had a falls-view room and were face-on to the American falls (9th floor) and looking down the way you could make out the horseshoe falls. I would say the location was great for accessing the street, viewing falls, etc. No complaints at all.

Price: Expensive. But then again it was summer in Niagara Falls and we were looking across the river with a nice view. Expensive was to be expected.

Rooms: This is a really old hotel. It has history. It has character. It has really old rooms (as you might expect). Old hotels have small rooms. As long as you know that going in, you'll be fine. We were fine with it and thought some of it added character (the bathroom has some seemingly-original fixtures... very interesting to look at, clean, functioned flawlessly). The carpet in our room was buckled up in one spot but it was fine. There was no musty smell or anything else you might get from a really old hotel.

Food: Breakfast buffet was too expensive. Should have just ordered from the menu. Nothing spectacular to eat, but the view from the restaurant was incredible.

Room Tip: As for a falls view (I cannot think of any other reason to stay here really... get the view, it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    294
    188
    101
    90
See reviews for
364
454
38
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We got this hotel through a discount website. We upgraded to a suite with a king bed and jacuzzi. We loved it. The room was very spacious and quite. Nice bathroom. The jacuzzi was in the main room. Sheets were clean and crisp. The room was adequately clean. Small bar fridge which came in very handy. We were able to bring our bicycles up into the room without a problem and there was plenty of space.
Service was excellent! I cant say more about that.
We got extras like free water in the room, bus passes, and a $40 voucher for dinner in the Rainbow Room. One of the best pieces of salmon I had.

Room Tip: Falls view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Hills
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Having planned a couple of nights for our very first visit to Niagara Falls, as a IHG Priority Club member we contacted the hotel in advance to be considered for a good view of the falls. On arrival we were absolutely delighted by the old world charm, pleasant and attentive staff, very comfortable bed, but we were blown away by the room upgrade and the resultant amazing view over both falls, and the Rainbow Bridge over to the US.

The view was so amazing we created a little viewing area by the widow (please refer to our photos) to sit in the comfortable lounge chairs day or night to fully appreciate the falls and the coming and going of the border crossing traffic on the bridge.

The indoor pool and gym were very good. We were definetly spoilt with the Resort component of the fee offering good value with WeGo Bus Tickets around Niagara area, Dinner discounts, Internet, bottled water and IHG membership rewards of bottles of wine. The location could not be faulted, and in addition to the stunning Falls views themselves, we loved the stylish gardens and large fish pond immediately in front of the hotel nearer the US Falls. The Rose Garden is a treasure, located next to the Police HQ Historic building, a short walk from the Hotel on the right towards the Canadian Falls.

We greatly enjoyed the historic charm this hotel offers, including the grand stairway into the lobby, and the proximity to shopping, cafes and the uninterupted access to the Falls and National Park Gardens. This Hotel's charm is definetly not available in the modern hotels, and is something to cherish and enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room with a view of the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We chose this hotel through a discount website. The package included a room with a view of the falls, a discount at the Rainbow Room restaurant in the hotel, and drinks at the Hard Rock café, also on the property. The room was nice and we could see the falls from our window, We had dinner at the Rainbow Room and it was good, the best part is we went on a night when there is fireworks over the falls!!! Worst part is all the fees and taxes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Hotel was built in 1929 so do not expect large rooms. The rooms were nice enough. The resort fee does come with extras like daily bottle water and bus passes ($14). There is a really good bus system which travels around Niagara. Brings you to all of the attractions and they are frequent - every 20-30 minutes. The location is great. You are a short walk to the falls. Take the bus if you prefer. Around the corner is Niagara's version of Disneyland - plenty of amusements for the kids and plenty of places to eat such as the Hard Rock, Planet, Outback, etc. Suggest eating dinner at the Rainbow Club on the top floor. Great Fall views and hotel guests normally get a $40 discount. Things are pricey due to where you are. Take the Maid of the Mist ride. The Canadian side is the better side although the better walk down to the bottom of the falls is best on the American side (walking distance from hotel). The best places to exchange money are the casino cages. One casino did a dollar for dollar exchange with no fees. The one connected to the hotel gave $99 Cn for $100 US with no fees. Took the Purple Bus to the Bus Station - 15 minutes - and picked up Megabus to Toronto. Worked out really easy and very cheap. The room had nice bed and linens, etc. It was a nice place with a great location. Be careful how you tip. Bills come with a 13% HST tax - pays for schools and healthcare. You may find yourself tipping the tax. Places up the bill 5% if you pay in American Dollars. Some credit cards charge a Foreign Transaction Fee. Some waive the fee if you upgrade. Need to check.

Room Tip: Ask for a room Falls side if the price is right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Purchased 2 night stay on Groupon for $189 per night. Canadian taxes, undisclosed "resort fee" and parking added about $135.00 to our 2 night stay. This is NOT a resort. Small, outdated rooms and bathroom had hair stuck to the walls. We were on the 9th floor and had a decent view. Unique lobby. Creepy swimming pool. Matress needed replacing. Overall, there are definitely better choices in Niagara Falls.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Mommyc3,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced and for the room conditions that did not meet your expectations. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just repeating what others have already said...book a room in Niagara falls through Hotwire and mind you a three and a half star one...you get the smallest possible room in the Crowne Plaza imaginable. The time spent in the room was occupied by trying to navigate around each other. To be fair to Hotwire we had a wonderful one bedroom condo in Williamsburg Va last month that we paid way less for.
The room came with a double bed that gave me about a foot of space with the husband sleeping there too. It's hard when you are used to a king bed but hey a queen would not have even fit in the space. The bathroom was very small...also could not have been smaller. The room was clean and pretty with an updated TV. We had a nice view of the parking garage and giant fan (sarcasm).
The hotel itself is beautiful and the pool and hot tub were nice. You have to take two elevators...one to the rooms and the other to a parking garage.

Room Tip: Don't go through Hotwire or any other third party site unless you are willing to take a small ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Ladiedy,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am delighted that you found our hotel beautiful and liked the pool facility. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. However, it seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to room allocation. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview

Address: 5685 Falls Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 6W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic elegance at the Falls. The AAA/CAA rated 3-Diamond/4 Star fallsview hotel is located directly across from Niagara Falls, in the heart of the tourist district. The Crowne features indoor connections to Casino Niagara, Fallsview Indoor Waterpark, and the attractions, entertainment and dining options located on the 20 acre Falls Avenue Resort. A getaway at the Crowne is a rewarding experience in part a result of first class amenities, spectacular fallsview guestrooms & suites, and exquisite fallsview fine dining at The Rainbow Room by Massimo Capra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview Hotel Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.