We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian food in Mississauga!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Rain

Mango Rain
1714 Lakeshore Road West, Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
905 919 1374
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 1,241 Restaurants in Mississauga
Price range: $19 - $24
Cuisines: Indian, Thai
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Indian food in Mississauga!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Wonderful food from a family run place. Delicious Indian and Thai food. Authentic and will customize to your desired spice level. Great for take out or eat in. Everything we've ordered has been amazing!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Fresh eats, trendy space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We decided to check out a local restaurant in our new neighborhood, after doing some research we came across Mango Rain. Indian food is one of my favs (although I do not have it often or know much about it)… and a fusion with Thai seemed rather interesting.

First impressions were excellent. The place is small but very chic and well decorated. Almost like you are eating in a small Indian art gallery.

They brought out some bread at the start, it was very dry and there were no dips of any sort provided, which seemed odd. This was really the only complaint food wise. Our veggie pakora app was excellent and my main spicy lamb dish with roti bread on the side was very tasty.

Main problem with this restaurant was the service was slow. Friendly, but slow. The place can sit maybe 25-30 people, but when we were there it was only about half full. We were ready with our drink order, meal order, and payment well before our server came by. The food is prepared exceptionally fresh so no complaints waiting for it to arrive, but to place orders it could have been much more efficient.

In short I would definitely recommend this establishment if you are looking for fresh, great tasting Indian and Thai food in Clarkson… as long as you are not in a hurry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A GEM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have been to Mango Rain 3 times now and the food is flavourful and the portions perfect. Nice that the owners are involved in the day to day running of the business - it shows in the quality of their product. A must go for anyone who likes great Thai food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Was here for the 1st time with a friend. The food was amazing!! Very flavourful and well portioned. Very quaint spot, owner/operated so the service and food quality was excellent. The butter chicken had just the right taste at medium spice. I will definitely be back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fresh! Love it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Cozy place to go for some delicious food. Combo of Thai-Indian menu is perfect for my palate. Service is a bit slow, but I am glad because they make everything fresh. You can tell when you taste it. Very friendly staff. Tables a bit too simple. But I will go back again and again because the food is great. I love supporting local establishments where they try hard.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango Rain also viewed

 
Mississauga, Ontario
Mississauga, Ontario
 

Been to Mango Rain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Rain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.