We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Service and Possible Death” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Colossus of Rhodes

Colossus of Rhodes
280 Lakeshore Road East, Mississauga, Ontario L5G 1H2, Canada
(905) 271-2853
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 1,305 Restaurants in Mississauga
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Mississauga
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bad Service and Possible Death”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Informed server of allergies, received a dinner containing foods I'm deathly allergic too. My party was the only one on the patio; staff consistantly creeped out the door and at us making us feel uncomfortable. It was evident they were talking about us behind our backs. Lipstick on my water glass from a previous diner. We had a 5 different waiters... All in all horrible experience, horrible service. Worst restaurant in the city

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    18
    5
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We went to this restaurant on May long weekend as the reviews were good.Unfortunately,we found the experience disappointing. My wife opted for the grilled octopus for her starter,which turned out to be tough..Her main was pork souvlaki..This was ok,but rather small portion of meat.
I had the sea bass as a main,which was tasteless,and covered in sauce.
The service was very rushed and poor in general. I would definitely not go to this restaurant again.again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, ON Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The Best Mediterranean Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Fantastic restaurant. I've experienced both dine-in and take-out, and the food was impeccable both times. If you like Mediterranean food, you'll love Colossus. To top it off, the staff is incredibly helpful. I ordered take-out most recently and my pick-up time got mixed up - I arrived 30 minutes before I was expected. I'm not going to blame them - I may have messed up the time. Anyway, my order was ready in 10 minutes.

Talk about turning a negative into a positive!

I've given them average ratings below for "Families with children" and "Special occasions" only because the restaurant is small given the number of people in there (at least during the weekend.) Consider that a testament to how good the food is and how popular it is.

One important tip - while I was there the last time, they had to deal with two separate customers who called the wrong location (they also have a location in Oakville.) Make sure you're calling the right location when you're getting takeout or making reservations!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My BF took me here this past weekend for my birthday dinner. It's always been one of my favorite restaraunts and once again we weren't disappointed. For our appy we had the calamari (11.95) - SO good! Cooked to perfection, with an excellent tzatziki, you can't go wrong. For our meals my BF had the Lamb & Sea which is a combination of lamb chops, lamb tenderloin and pulled lamb with sauteed shrimp & scallops topped with a muscat wine reduction, served with lemon potatoes and grilled vegetables (32.95) - this served as a full dinner for him as well as a full lunch the next day. I had the Exohiko which is pulled lamb, spinach, olives, caramelized onion and feta cheese rolled in phylo pastry and served over a spiced tomato rice pilaf and grilled vegetables (19.95). Our server was excellent, as they always are - they don't bother you every 5 minutes and they allow you to enjoy each course without rushing you out. With a bottle of wine our bill was a very reasonable $100. Can't wait to come back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Authentic dishes, good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Been there a couple of times now - for lunch and dinner. More to choose from for dinner but prices more reasonable for lunch. Wine is average but food is above average and service is excellent all the time. Very good Greek food.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colossus of Rhodes also viewed

 

Been to Colossus of Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colossus of Rhodes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.