We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in Port Credit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colossus of Rhodes

Colossus of Rhodes
280 Lakeshore Road East, Mississauga, Ontario L5G 1H2, Canada
(905) 271-2853
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #44 of 1,210 restaurants in Mississauga
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Port Credit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our daughter was in Greece this past summer and came home to announce that Colossus truly has authentic Greek food. What could be a better endoursement than that?! We are regulars here and certainly enjoy all the staff. The menu has recently been changed up to add some new and interesting dishes, but sadly my favorite, arni lemanato is no longer on the menu. However, I did ask them last time I was in and the kitchen cooked one up for me. Yum. The lemon potatoes are delicious and the village salad is an authentic Greek salad. The lamb souvlaki is decadently good and a big portion for sharing. The calamari cannot be beat - especially their stuffed calamari. The moussaka is creamy and the bechmeal sauce perfect. The seafood salad is substantial and fresh. We have enjoyed pretty much everything on this menu. The service is family friendly and very attentive. You will love your night out at this reasonably priced and busy restaurant. I would recommend reservations.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    29
    9
    4
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto,Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Recently had dinner there with a few friends. Had to make a reservation as this restaurant is really very busy. I had a souvlaki platter that was excellent. It came with rice, roasted potatoes and a greek salad...The service was good and the waiter was very friendly..Did not order any dessert as I was too full from the platter. This place is pretty busy, and dining is tight..but the food is good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“a lovely taverna to enjoy an authentic greek meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It took me far too long to finally try Colossus, after hearing rave reviews from friends and family for years. I was pleased with the cozy european atmosphere of the restaurant and have been back several times since my first visit. The service is friendly but not forced or fake. More variety on the menu than you would find at a chain greek restaurant, with so much more to offer than slouvaki - although the lamb slouvaki is excellent! I loved the Kopanisti dip to start, which was perfectly salty and spicy at the same time. Try the Exohiko for your entree, and you will not be disappointed. Hot and delicious lamb, feta cheese, seasoned rice all wrapped up in flaky philo pastry.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great dishes and nice service. Lamb is prepared deliciously. Affordable prices. It was a while ago when I last visited.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Was Very Good, but has Improved!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Went there recently on a Sat., been there and Oakville location a few times over the years. Place was busy, tables are small & close. Good atmosphere. Service was very good, starter plate of various appetizers was really delicious. Moussaka likewise, and I had something new - lamb, cheese, kalamata olives in a phyllo pastry like a roti - exohito? and it was the best! Custard pie and baklava for dessert. Two bottles of Boudero wine went down well. For two couples, bill was just over $200 all in, not bad at all, well worth it. Try it, you'll like it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colossus of Rhodes also viewed

Mississauga, Ontario
Mississauga, Ontario
 
Mississauga, Ontario
Mississauga, Ontario
 

Been to Colossus of Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colossus of Rhodes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.