We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS IS THE BEST!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barb's Roti Shop - CLOSED

Barb's Roti Shop
1181 Lakeshore Rd E, Mississauga, Ontario L5E 1G1, Canada
(905) 278-4713
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“THIS IS THE BEST!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

All i can say this was my first time here today and not last) i finally opened myself to some new cuisine and i can say the curry chicken roti was one of the best fiods EVER i tried!!! The customer service was so nice it is only take out but it was quick and very good value)) Roti was Huge) am officially addicted now) good i moved close by) definitly a hidden gem on lakeshore. trust me i have eaten out alot and this food tops all!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    16
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great roti and always interesting reading....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

When I need a great lunch to distract me from a bad day at work, I often head over to Barb's for a hot Chicken Roti.

Never hungry afterwards and the taste is great - tasty, spicy, comfort in a messy package.

Be sure you have cash to pay as Barb's doesn't accept debit or credit - cash only.

Be sure to check out the press articles around and if feeling adventurous, ask about them. 'nuff said, I don't want to spoil the surprise or incriminate myself in something I can't get myself out of... :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overall, the Best Roti in Toronto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Barb's Roti has overall, the best roti in Toronto. I have eaten there for 25 years and I've had others. Excellent quality ingredients and flavour. Nice and hot - great curry consistancy - top quality roti pastry. I like the small shrimp, but chicken, goat, large shrimp, beef and chana are all excellent. Top quality potatoes and peas also. Never any stray bones or fat hidden inside. (I'm not so fond of the taste of the jerk chicken roti, though - the flavour doesn't taste like proper Jamaican jerk to me - maybe because Barb is Guyanese!) Great service from Barb, Patrick and their Son - A great honest family business). Keep going strong folks! (Take away only; Takes 5-10 mins prep time; No phone-in orders)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
“Fantastic Roti”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've been a customer of Barb's for around 15 years and now make special trips to get there since i've moved to mid-town. It is consistently the best jerk chicken roti anywhere! Remember this is not a sit down place so plan ahead and enjoy.
Stefano

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Caribbean style roti in the GTA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

They have consistently made the best Caribbean style roti for as long as I can remember. I always get the medium chicken roti, because they don’t mess around with their Scotch bonnet pepper hot sauce. The hot is very hot and will make you sweat. They give you a good ratio of chicken to potatoes and the curry gravy is divine. They have large portions so make sure your hungry otherwise you won’t be able to finish your roti. They also have amazing doubles.[sandwich made with two bara (flat fried bread) filled with channa (curried chick peas or garbanzo beans)] The jerk chicken and rice dice is also good, but the roti and doubles are the best thing on the menu IMO. Do yourself a favour and check this place out, but call to make sure they are open so you don’t go there when they decide to take a day off.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barb's Roti Shop also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barb's Roti Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.