We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's Back Door Restaurant

Michael's Back Door Restaurant
1715 Lakeshore Rd W, Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
(905) 822-5751
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Michael's Back Door Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 1,224 restaurants in Mississauga
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Clarkson Road North
Transit: Mississauga Transit stops at the corner of Lakeshore Rd. W. and Clarkson Rd. N. The Clarkson GO Train station is a 10 minute walk.
Description: Established in 1981, Michael"s Back Door Restaurant has been providing Mississauga and the GTA with award winning cuisine and professional, courteous service, in a warm, comfortable atmosphere. Principle owners, Michael Morra and his son Michael Jr, along with partners, executive chef Stephan Waespi and Mario Della Savia, invite you to experience creative Italian, Continental fare offering the freshest ingredients and a variety of rare wines. Whether you are looking for a quick, casual meal, a romantic night out or a group dinner, Michael's Back Door has the perfect "OpenTable" for you.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The food was great - the service was very attentive. The room is nicely set up and there is lots of free parking in the back, which I only found by accident. I would recommend this restaurant highly. There seemed to be alot of people that knew other people, so it appeared to be a restaurant that is regularily frequented by the same crowd. Always a good sign.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    21
    10
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
1 review
“Excellent Food and Amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were supposed to go to Toronto to celebrate my daughters 18 birthday but we had to cancel because of the snow storm.We are all dressed up and in a Hummer Limo but stranded on Highway 10 can't go further because of traffic due to the snow storm so we were contemplating where to go eat as we can't let 10 people down and of course spoil the night for the birthday girl.In a last minute decision we thought of Michael's Back Door Restaurant in Lakeshore and Clarkson since we don't know the number we google the info and called the restaurant.We told them that its about 12 of us and we want to come for dinner now and if they could take us in.They were very nice to say yes.Upon arrival my first impression of the place was simply elegant with a touch of class, upon eating the food we all thought we were in seventh heaven.The food was perfection we all ordered the Pasta of the day, the dessert was to die for.Our server was the nicest and the most charming gentleman that keep everyone laughing all through dinner. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants to experience great quality dinning.Our highest complement to the chef and to the server.Great job guys.Keep it up.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfection (or close to it) in Mississauga, Ontario”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Michael's Back Door is where we go to celebrate special occasions. Special birthdays, anniversaries or just when we want a fabulous dinner. In all our visits
to this restaurant we have never been disappointed. The service is incredible.
A nice touch is to have a place to leave your heavy winter attire.
This restaurant has a special touch with fish. The sea bass I had a few days
ago equalled the incredible dish I had in Rome once - incredibly seasoned and yet
delicate. Words cannot describe the mushroom soup which was a special.
Well done!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Exceptional Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Don't let the title of this place fool you, it's quite formal, and the food is wonderful. Service is excellent. I always ask the servcer for recommendations, and I'm always pleased. Get the lamb if it's available.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
“Consistence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have been going to Michaels for many years and have never been disappointed. Their food is great and their service staff are always pleasant and attentive without rushing you.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Back Door Restaurant also viewed

 
Mississauga, Ontario
Mississauga, Ontario
 

Been to Michael's Back Door Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael's Back Door Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.