We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mondello Ristorante

Mondello Ristorante
127 Queen Street South, Mississauga, Ontario L5M 1K9, Canada
9058191727
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #4 of 1,210 restaurants in Mississauga
Price range: $18 - $54
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We wanted to go to Mondello for the weekend after Valentine's Day but could not get a reservation (impressive) so we booked for the following weekend. We found that the food and service was excellent. I highly recommend their daily specials (they all are amazing). You can not go wrong booking a reservation at Mondello. It was interesting to see that it was just as busy the following weekend as it was on Valentine's Day weekend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    44
    10
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A trip to Toronto from Halifax Nova Scotia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We where up in Mississauga for a week in May 2012 from Nova Scotia, on our last evening their we went to Mondello Restorante for dinner with our daughters. Well to say that it was fantastic would be an understatement. The place itself is very comfortable, warm and inviting, the staff greeted us then seated us. After looking over the menu our waiters gave great suggestions regarding the menu as well as the wine list,... they were spot on. The service was " The best\" the chef came to make sure that everything was to our satisfaction. The added little personal touches from the owners and staff made for an evening to remember. We would like to thank the owners and staff for not only a fabulous meal but for......creating a memory. Thank you all once again...Sarah & Michael Clothier....

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“From a visitor's perspective”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Meeting my wife in Toronto for a short weekend, I consulted Trip Advisor for help in finding a restaurant with great food and also that would be a good option for my vegetarian wife. It was a wonderful experience. The staff was very knowledgeable about the menu, very attentive and the food was excellent. We were not disappointed!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We went here to use a coupon from the entertainment book. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the meals and the service. They can make special requests for dietary reasons. The wine list is also very reasonable. It is a small place so you are probably going to need reservations. One of the best Italian in Mississauga

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Firing On All Cylinders.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Mondello Ristorante is most certainly firing on all cylinders these days. Following a somewhat challenging start after their restaurant's reorganization a couple of years ago, Mondello has matured nicely into a dependable and consistently satisfying dining destination, particularly in the last year.

Turnarounds are most often predictably unsuccessful as anyone who has kept track of the “Restaurant Makeover” outcomes on Canada’s Food Network TV channel knows. Yet with their clear focus on customer satisfaction these folks clearly deserve all the compliments they are earning as a result of their determined ever-better attitude. Something no restaurant designer or consulting chef can ever deliver.

Everything we tasted today had a sumptuousness that indicated great care and pride was taken in its execution. There were also plenty of little things that made the experience special. Such as the delightfully fresh bread and its refreshingly smooth oil and balsamic accompaniment. The distinctive black table linens and thankfully soft music playing in the background to add to one’s comfort level while the fireplace provides a touch of winter coziness.

After sampling the food friendly Flying Squirrel ale, we settled on it as our beverage du jour. This meal began with the omnipresent fried calamari, only here it is just barely coated and flash fried to maintain tenderness and flavor while avoiding the usual chewy texture and oily aftertaste. Our perfectly just-seared sea scallops served on a bed of grilled shaved fennel and topped with a garlic and pine nut butter sauce was culinary perfection. Delicious.

Since we so thoroughly enjoyed our meat and fish entrées on our last visit here, we decided to broaden our experience and construct a shared pasta tasting menu for our mains. Our mains of Lasagna, Eggplant Parmigiana, and spectacular cream-bathed Cornish Game Hen Ravioli provided some Wow! moments. The lasagna and ravioli both won “best-evers” from my seasoned dining partners and I agreed. Chef's light tomato sauce is bliss on a plate. We shared a distinctive Grilled Fresh Pear, Walnut and Arugula salad with our mains and it provided a refreshingly sweet contrast to the savoury items.

And then there is the helpful and attentive service by the charming Heather. Poised, knowledgeable, and observant, she doesn’t miss an opportunity to try to please. How rare in someone young.

Another notable feature, Mondello has its own adjacent off-street parking lot. I have no hesitation to strongly recommend Mondello to you as a first class destination restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mondello Ristorante also viewed

 
Mississauga, Ontario
Mississauga, Ontario
 

Been to Mondello Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondello Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.