We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but exceptional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guru Lukshmi South Indian Cuisine

Guru Lukshmi South Indian Cuisine
7070 Saint Barbara blvd | Unit 48 & 50, Mississauga, Ontario L5W 0E6, Canada
9057952299
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #339 of 1,305 Restaurants in Mississauga
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Authentic South Indian pure-vegetarian family Restaurant. specialist in Varieties of Home made Dosa.No commercial cooks owners cook themselves to keep the authentic taste and cleanliness.Been in business since 2003 beautiful decor try to come on weekdays to avoid weekend rush "GtA's Most Passonate Dosa Maker' Toronto Star
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Expensive but exceptional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Gurulakshmi has always been exceptional in the preparation of it's good. Squeaky clean. Fabulous ingredients and super variation on the stock south Indian fare. The owner takes exceptional pride in this place. heis the expert in dosas, of that there is no doubt. We had the mysore does and it is hard not to say it was the best ever. The only problem that success brings is the lack of space. The pressure of new customers waiting makes the wait staff try to rotate customers put off the place as soon as they can and that is very irritating. After a good meal one wants to hang around for 15 minutes and soak it in. But I guess business is business and they need to get you out. Other than that, it is a place that must be visited to appreciate the passion the owner shows in every meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    20
    5
    4
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“True South Indian Vegetarian Tiffin”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

First the positives. As pointed by other contributors, the food is very authentic and amazingly fresh. All the spices used are ground from original and not use cheap powdered stuff from bottles. Love their tastefully done chutneys and very creative selection of Dosas, which you don't find in places like Chennai or Bengaluru. Ordered for a plate of Vada / idli with sambar and 2 varieties of chutney and a masala potato Dosa. This is my 2nd visit and found the quality to be definitely much above the other S Indian restaurants in the Greater Toronto area.

We made a booking for 6.30 but had to wait 15 mns to be shown a table and another 10 mns for our orders to be taken. Definitely a big scope for improvement in service. The menu is too bulky and confusing. A thinner and leaner version would be more user friendly.

All in all a good place for S Indian Vegetarian food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Our favorite South Indian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

After having lived in Mysore/Bangalore for 10 years, I know a great dosa when I taste one. We have tried tons of places in the GTA which 'claim' to be authentic, but Guru Lukshmi is the real deal. Starting from the sambhar to the chutneys to the dosas, these are the tastes you can find in Karnataka/Tamil Nadu.
I agree, the prices are steep, but it is a treat to go once in awhile. Their medu vadas are delicious, so crispy and light. I always get the Mysore dosa, very flavorful, just like they make them in Mysore. Their Rawa dosa and other specialty dosas are just as good too. Their filter coffee is excellent and a great way to end a meal.
This location and the decor/seating beats the one they had earlier, which was dingy and cramped, but nonetheless, we still used to visit it simply because of the food.
I've always found the staff to be friendly and helpful and yes, even though the place is extremely crowded, but once you get seated, you are good to go. I never felt rushed.
It is better to visit during the weekdays before 7 pm.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent dosas.....staff with attitude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

First the positives:
1. Flavourful food
2. Wide range of dosas to suit all palates
3. Good presentation...attractive serving dishes (thankfully no stainless steel, except cutlery)
4. Good decor
Now, what turned me off:
1. Staff have a poor attitude towards customers (except customers that were white). Was served by Bhargava (he was excellent and recommended me a dosa). The attitude came from Miken who seemed to be in a big rush to get me to leave.
2. Poor presentation of the bill. Just plonked on the table by Miken (not in a folder or tray)
3. More expensive than other South Indian restaurants. Management claims of fresh ingredients to justify high price is not veriable

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“excellent dosas, average service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Dosas are amazing. Chutneys are awesome. Weekend wait times are horrible, upwards of 45 mins for even two people. And staff seem to try to just push you out as soon as you are done eating. Try only weekdays for better service, as food quality is pretty consistent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guru Lukshmi South Indian Cuisine also viewed

Mississauga, Ontario
Mississauga, Ontario
 
Mississauga, Ontario
Mississauga, Ontario
 

Been to Guru Lukshmi South Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guru Lukshmi South Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.