We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Plain Great! (or excellent)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo Legend

Bamboo Legend
3145 Dundas St W, Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
905-569-3180
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #171 of 1,251 Restaurants in Mississauga
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Just Plain Great! (or excellent)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

From the exterior there is nothing that would particularly draw you into this small restaurant in the back of a strip mall. Once inside, you're happy you made the stop. The interior has been nicely decorated and has nice clean and crisp atmosphere..... pretty much like to food. Not too fancy, not too expensive, just great

We arrived about 7PM on a Sunday evening. The room was not busy so we had the servers pretty much to ourselves (and two other couples). I had the Curry Pad Thai; my partner opted for the green curry. Both of ours were ordered with tofu and vegetables (meat options also are offered). Both were light, nicely spiced and had a particularly clean taste. (I hate it when asian sauces get heavy and "gloppy".) We preceded this with a couple of excellent spring rolls. Tea is provided gratis.

If we weren't from out of town we would have had the left overs bagged for lunch the day. Alas we didn't have the option. Our loss!

Total bill, including taxes came in at just a smidgen under $30 CAN.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I've taken friends and family to Bamboo Legend in both their locations in Oakville and Mississauga. We have never been disappointed. Every time we go, we don't have any leftovers and that just shows how delicious their food is. From time to time, I'd go by myself because I just love their food.

Thai cuisine has a lot of spices that many are not familiar with. Bamboo Legend uses these spices well, with only a hint that emphasizes the flavour of food without being overpowering. Excellent balance. Their dishes can be hot, so make sure you tell them how much heat you want (dishes are denoted with chilli sign). I always order their tom yung gong and their spicy basil pad kraw praw with seafood. The sauce, young peppercorns, veggies and shrimps in this dish are sooooooo good to the last bite! Thai food with sauce is best with steamed rice so make sure you order this as well.

If you love fish, try their spicy pla pad chu. This is only ordinary fish but the way they cook takes it to a different level.

For dessert, I always go for the mango sticky rice with coconut cream, and I always ask for more coco cream.

Next time you dare to be adventurous with cuisine and really want to experience Asian flavours, why not try Bamboo Legend? I don't think you will regret it .... in fact, the experience might open up your palate to a different spectrum of wonderful flavours.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Mississauga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Have only been to the lakeshore location and it's very, very good. Need to go back and try the rest of the menu. They have the best Thai red curry.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“BEST THAI FOOD EVER!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I only eat Thai food here because no where else compares. My have dishes are Green Curry, Panang, Pad-Thai, Curry Pad Thai. I crave it all the time!!! Great price, Great Service, love the atmosphere, AMAZING FOOD what more could you ask for! :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“I always come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I found this place a number of years ago when I lived in Ontario. I loved the food, service, atmosphere, and value. Now I live in Texas, but whenever I come to visit family back in Canada, I always make a point to come back here. I suggest Authentic pad thai, coconut sitcky rice, and the cashew chicken dishes. So delicious, I can;t wait until next time I go back

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Legend also viewed

 
Mississauga, Ontario
Mississauga, Ontario
 

Been to Bamboo Legend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo Legend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.