We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two words. LOBSTER BISQUE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Walkers FishMarket - Wine Bar & Grill

Walkers FishMarket - Wine Bar & Grill
2575 Dundas St W, Mississauga, Ontario L5K 2M6, Canada
905 607 3474
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Walkers FishMarket - Wine Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 1,241 Restaurants in Mississauga
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill, Wine Bar, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Seafood Restaurant- Wine Bar & Grill. Oyster Bar. Great Fresh Fish, Choose your Catch!
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Two words. LOBSTER BISQUE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This restaurant is absolutely delightful! The décor is stunning. Bright, clean lighting, white shutter windows, and over 100 wooden crafted replica sail boats all over the place. Very tasteful.

The food was very good too. Great selections of fresh catch, but the absolute stunner was the LOBSTER BISQUE. I was so disappointed to return a month later and find out it is only a seasonal dish. I could have eaten an entire vat of the stuff!

Service was also really pleasant and helpful. Glasses never went empty and she was very knowledgeable and friendly. Really seemed to go out of her way to make our experience enjoyable.

Only disadvantage was that the restaurant was a little too pricey.

The Dundas and Winston Churchill area doesn't have a lot of fine dining options but Walker's Fish Market is a total hit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    25
    9
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Staff, Loved The Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Had a meal at Walker's on Dundas for the first time this week past after driving b y it for years. The restaurant is very well appointed - nicer than I imagined - but not overpriced. We shared a seafood pizza (huge) to start and I had a piece of fish I had never heard of before, Cobbia, but I loved it. The wife had a pot of mussels with a side salad.The experience was great, we will certainly be back and while the food was terrific the server was genuinely nice and looked like she was happy to come to work and do her job - she made the experience more than anything else.
Well done Walker's.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worst Experience Ever - Avoid the Place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

On September 2 our family visited Walkers Fishmarket on 2575 Dundas Street in Mississauga. This has been the worst experience in years. We had to wait for our order for a very long time, the order was brought in such a way that one person would get everything all at once whereas everybody else (3 more people) did not get anything, even an ordered salad. When the wait was just unbearable we complained to the General Manager, Chris Wilson, who clearly was not very keen on taking our concerns into any consideration. After a while we finally got the rest of the order (the first person has finished his meal by that time), and the way the order was put on the table was so unprofessional that a very hot plate was handed over by the waitress into the hands of our daughter, which caused her fingers to be burned. Moreover, the General Manager (or the waitress for that matter) never even bothered to check with us to see if everything was all right. When we asked for a check, we again had to wait for an extremely long period of time. The check itself was messed up, and the waitress could not explain it. We had to go back to Chris Wilson demanding an opportunity to pay and leave the restaurant. The General Manager, practically unapologetic, was literally laughing into my face. The whole staff, including the General Manager, were so unprofessional, and the food itself was so mediocre, that I would certainly recommend people against visiting this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, poor chef or kitchen staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

after reading the reviews here, we drove 25k to eat here. I ordered the pasta special without the mussels 19$ and guest had battered cod 18$ . Cesar salad to share. Restaurant was not busy at 7pm on a Saturday night and that should have been my first clue. small family groups and a few couples.
Bread came warm, but hard, obviously sitting too long we then had the salad which was THICK with dressing and hard to swallow but nice, the croutons reused from the bread! 10$. Then the dinners arrived...mine with mussels! Immediately sent it back and now have to watch my guest eat. Did not have to wait for a new order cuz the cod was soooo greasy and mushy that it was not edible. I honestly had visions of the chef removing the mussels and sending me back the pasta...scary. What could be so difficult in a restaurant that was not busy and this was a time for the chef to shine and instead it stunk. Great wait staff though, felt bad for them.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food!never rushed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My girlfriends and I love to go for lunch during the week. It is hard to find a restaurant where you can enjoy your food and then sit for awhile afterwards, without pressure to leave. AT WALKER'S you can! Slyvie is always there and one of the most pleasant servers around. We enjoy our time here immensely. I have s ever had a bad meal here, the seafood is always fresh and cooked well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walkers FishMarket - Wine Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Walkers FishMarket - Wine Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walkers FishMarket - Wine Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.