We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served it's Purpose” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Star Express Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Star Express Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Star Express Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5599 Ambler Dr, Mississauga, Ontario L4W 3Z1, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 60 Hotels in Mississauga
montreal/stowe
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Served it's Purpose”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our object was to get a inexpensive hotel with shuttle and included breakfast at a good price around Toronto's airport. That's exactly what we got. The hotel is clearly not a quality hotel. Rather tired. Check-in was fine except our first room faced the hotel's bar/restaurant. The second room was OK with a recently renovated bathroom. The rest of the room was from the early 80's.
Breakfast was in the restaurant which is the breakfast room until it becomes a bar/restaurant at night. This had a 70's decor and not in a retro way.Breakfast was fine but a whole area of carpeting was completely wet. Waitress said the roof had been leaking for months. Sad.
Shuttle was just the 2 of us so we went in a minivan. Fine with us.

Room Tip: Don't get a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    39
    36
    38
    56
See reviews for
50
52
30
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Yucky, yucky hotel. I wanted to sleep with my clothes on. Took FOREVER to check in. Seriously, do not stay here if you can help it!!! Old, dirty, smoke-smelling, yucky establishment. I got out as soon as I could in the morning.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirana, General Manager at Star Express Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry to learn that your stay with us was quite dissapointing according to your review. We would certainly like an opportunity to speak with you to learn more about your feed back so that we can address the areas of concern.
Thank you again for taking the time to let us know about your stay and look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
182 hotel reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
292 helpful votes 292 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night while in transit to Costa Rica. As we had stayed there previously we knew the hotel. However they have made some changes to their shuttle service between the hotel and the airport since our last stay. These changes are not on the hotel’s website. The shuttle from the airport is now on demand – that is, a phone call needs to be made to the hotel on arrival in Toronto and the shuttle will be dispatched. It could take up to 30 minutes to arrive. The return shuttle to the hotel runs on an hourly basis, on the half hour. The shuttle has to be booked at the hotel ahead of time. For us this meant leaving the hotel at 6:30 instead of the planned 7:00. It also meant missing the hotel’s breakfast, as it does not start until 6:30. We suggested to the hotel desk clerk that this shuttle information should be listed on the website. Apart from this issue, the room was a bit small but clean and functional. We faced the 401 and therefore heard traffic whizzing by all night. Flights were also audible since the flight path was over the hotel. We had booked the room through Booking.com and the rate was excellent. The annoyance over the shuttle put a bit of a damper on our enjoyment of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were referred to this hotel as the Best Western was still renovating their parking lot for park and fly. The hotel has easy access off the 401 and check in was simple. We ate at the Tropicana restaurant attached to the hotel. While the decor is somewhat cafeteria/like the menu is quite varied, the food good and so was the service. The downsides were the noisy heater and the bus pickup was over 35 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I were very pleased with this hotel. I was in Canada for business and my husband came along for a mini vacation. We drove in from Ohio, the weather was awful in the states, and we had car troubles along the way. We were pleasantly surprised with a complimentary upgrade to one of the suites when we finally arrived around 9:15 pm. The suite had a kitchenette, living room, separate bedroom, with a king sized bed and a nice size bathroom. All of the staff was so nice – it was like being welcomed home. We were also very impressed with how clean and how quiet the hotel was, no one was slamming doors – that means a lot to someone that is traveling for business and needs to be well rested for the next day. They do have an indoor pool with a hot tub but we did not take advantage of that. The free breakfast was very good with many choices. This hotel definitely lives up to its name: “Quality” Inn & Suites.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff! Parking great for park and fly- right beside building. Well kept clean- nice pool and hot tub (indoor) - smoking rooms- airport service terrific!
Updated bathrooms very nice ceramic.
Only thing I wish smoking room had window open availability for venting
Stayed 2x before and after flight.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Booked room to stay overnight for an AM flight, the included shuttle service was perfect and prompt. The hotel is in a remote area - however if you walk abit you will find some restaurants - room was great, clean - bed was comfortable - heat/AC could be adjusted in the room. the wifi was pretty good. overall pleasant stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Star Express Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Express Inn & Suites

Address: 5599 Ambler Dr, Mississauga, Ontario L4W 3Z1, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Airport)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Mississauga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 60 Hotels in Mississauga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Star Express Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Star Express Inn & Suites Airport, Mississauga offers Standard Rooms & Suites - Perfect for Business & Leisure Travelers GREAT LOCATION Star Express Inn & Suites Airport is conveniently located near Toronto Pearson International Airport (YYZ), Hershey Centre, Toronto Congress Centre convention facility, University of Toronto at Mississauga, Woodbine Racetrack and Paramount Canada's Wonderland. ROOMS & SUITES All guest rooms feature coffee makers, desks, ironing equipment, Nintendo game systems, voice mail, air-conditioning, hair dryers and cable television. Extended-stay suites have king beds, living rooms and kitchenettes with microwaves and refrigerators. Some rooms feature whirlpool bathtubs. Handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Star Express Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Airport
Quality Inn & Suites Airport Hotel Mississauga
Quality Inn Airport
Mississauga Quality Inn
Quality Inn Mississauga
Star Express Inn & Suites Mississauga, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Express Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.