We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service to the nth Degree!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Gateway Hotel Toronto Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Gateway Hotel Toronto Airport to your Saves list
Sheraton Gateway Hotel Toronto Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terminal 3, Toronto International Airport, Mississauga, Ontario L5P 1C4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Mississauga
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Customer service to the nth Degree!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

I have had the pleasure of staying at this property many times over the past few years, but a recent stay (April 2-4) has prompted me to write this review.

My accommodations were booked on the Sheraton SPG Club Floor, where the wired and wireless internet (in the club lounge) is free, and you get free bottled water as well as Hors D'oeuvres during the business week in the lounge. The rooms are pretty much identical to the rest of the hotel, except you are on the top floor, and you are well taken care of.

My stay this time was notably different, in a positive light. At check-in, my request from my booking to have an airfield/airport view was already taken care of, as well my keys and breakfast vouchers for the restaurant (to which Club Floor accommodations come with on the weekends) were already prepared. Past stays have had me asking for the breakfast vouchers, which just added an extra step. This was a nice touch, as it eliminated me having to ask the Front Desk staff for help a second time.

After getting up to the 8th floor, I noticed a selection of the days papers were laid out in the hallway on a nice dark wood table, so that customers could just pick up their paper at their leisure. This also was something new, and I found this to be particularly thoughtful.

The rest of my stay was very comfortable. One thing I have come to like about the Sheraton Gateway is just how helpful their staff is, and how friendly they are. the Housekeeping staff is always smiling and saying hello to me in the hall.

One final touch that really impressed me was a Waiter in the restaurant. The gentleman's name was Angel.

To my surprise, Angel remembered me from a visit a few months prior, and even remembered my order, right down to the incredients in my breakfast omelet! This is absolutely an amazing feat, considering the number of people they serve in the restaurant!

To sum it up, this hotel is very convenient as a stay-over for business as well as a nice place to stay for a pre-trip snooze. I have stayed at this property for over 10 stays now, and have yet to be disappointed once.

The only negatives (to be fair), to this property are:
- the expensive over-night parking charges (28.00$ I believe, but you are allowed in and out access)
- The restaurant and room service appear to be very costly
- Not much in the area with regards to alternative food / entertainment, unless you have a car and can travel just a short distance from the airport.

PS -- If you are staying on the Club Floor, don't forget to check out the Club Lounge in the late evening.. No one usually is in there, and there's a hidden gem - a relaxing massage chair hidden in a far corner!

Thanks to the staff at the Sheraton Gateway for a memorable time!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    524
    215
    81
    28
See reviews for
253
390
150
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

The location on the Pearson Toronto Airport site is why you would stay at this hotel.
If, like me, you arrive on a late flight one evening and depart on another flight the next day, this is the perfect place to stay, so long as you are not wanting to see anything of the city!

The staff in the hotel were excellent - accomodating our every need. The hotel food (dinner in the bar and breakfast) was overpriced for what you get but as a captive market I would expect nothing else. The bedroom was exceptionally comfortable with 2 large beds and soft-as-a-cloud duvets and pillows. The bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean and far more welcoming than my home!

I would definitely stay here again...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

If you are flying in or out of Toronto for business and don't want to be far from the airport, this is the only hotel that is within the airport complex itself, and is very convenient particularly for early flights. Clean, efficient, easy.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

I had to fly to Toronto to attend a funeral. The hotel is ideally situated, attached to Terminal 3 by a walkway, with lots of public transportation to the city centre nearby, if needed. Prices in the restaurant are high, but you can always walk over to the terminal to eat, where they are better.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

We flew in on the last flight from Boston to attend a funeral the next morning. It was great to take the shuttle from our terminal to the hotel, check in and get a bite to eat. The one unfortunate thing, the non-smoking room had clearly been smoked in. And so was the second non-smoking room - so smelly that they had stuck a Glad Plug-In in the socket. Room three was fine. The hotel was quiet, the food decent and the bar service acceptable. Incredibly convenient hotel is you have family in Etobicoke. The hotel has a pool so you see tons of guests walking around in shorts and sandals which is strange in early March.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Very clean. New rooms, comfortable clean bed.. Free bath robes. Love this hotel

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

My review is a little different than others written on this site. I have been a regular at this hotel over several years, particularly the last year. I stay 1 -3 nights a week. As I read the reviews, I could have responded on behalf of the hotel to explain any of the issues. Parking is the jurisdiction of the airport, the hotel cannot govern the rates. The snacks in the lounge and the change in the room service hours- I think we all recognize that the economy has affected every business. The hotel business is no different. I'm sure that when the economy improves you will see the hotel adjust their services accordingly. I don't think you can complain when the food in the lounge is provided free to those on the club level - there are cheese and crackers, roasted vegetables and fresh, fruit, sweets, good coffee, tea, water. I think that is plenty.

In my experience, this hotel is incredible. It is so convenient if you are flying out of Pearson; you just walk over to Terminal 3 or take the monorail right outside the doors of the hotel over to Terminal 1. You don't even have to go outside.

The staff at this hotel will do everything in their power to make you feel welcome, give you personal service and take care of your needs - EVERY SINGLE ONE OF THEM. They never hesitate to take a suggestion, immediately take care of any concern and always with a cheerful disposition. The managers are also friendly, helpful and considerate of their guests. They want you to feel at home.

It's a small enough hotel that you are never overwhelmed by crowds or feel it is too commercial.

The beds are extremely comfortable, duvets, feather pillows (if you choose), and it is very quiet. You need not worry about hearing the airplanes outside your room, although you can get a room to sit and watch the planes coming and going if you like.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will return every opportunity that I have.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayToronto, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Hotel Toronto Airport, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at our hotel. Thank you also for your understanding of some of the changes we needed to make in light of the challenges we faced in the year.
Our greatest asset is our staff and we are truly grateful that you have taken the time to acknowledge their efforts. We make every effort to ensure our guests feel welcomed and enjoy a relaxing and restful stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back 'home' soon.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Gateway Hotel Toronto Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Gateway Hotel Toronto Airport

Address: Terminal 3, Toronto International Airport, Mississauga, Ontario L5P 1C4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Mississauga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mississauga
#18 Business Hotel in Mississauga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Gateway Hotel Toronto Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 474
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel located inside Toronto's International Airport. It's the perfect choice for comfort and convenience. No shuttle required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Gateway Hotel Toronto Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel Toronto Airport
Toronto Sheraton
Sheraton Gateway Hotel Toronto Airport Mississauga, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Gateway Hotel Toronto Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.