We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only I knew...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Motel

Avenue Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mississauga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avenue Motel
Save
You added Avenue Motel to your Saves list
1060 Dundas Street East, Mississauga, Ontario L4Y 2B8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 59 Hotels in Mississauga
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If only I knew...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I travelled to this motel with my fiancé just a couple of days ago because we were in town and I can tell you this review is not going to good. When we came in at around 3 the hotel was packed full of prostitutes and drug addicts taking advantage of the 40$ special. So there were 0 room, we left came back after an hour or so and got a room. The room itself was an awful design and decor it reminds you of that movie vacancy with all the creepiness and what not. There is mold EVERYWHERE I'm the bathroom it was disgusting, a nest of spiders over the outer sink lights and the general cobweb. Stains on the carpet were numerous and you have to mind my language here it seemed like some body had ejaculated several times on it , this was pure filth. No trash bags in the garbage and oh yeah we had a broken phone and there was no remote to be found in the room. On the way out the lady at the desk who looked like she ad been warped out of an Austin powers movie made me wait 15 min until the room was checked until we could leave.. That is something I will never do again me and my fiancé lasted from 5pm and left at 11pm we didn't even last the night. THIS HOTEL SUCKS SAVE YOUR MONEY

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

first of all - most hotels/motels are at least a 100.00 bucks (plus deposit) per night. My boyfriend and I paid 100.00 for both the deposit and the rate (70.00 rate- it was saturday) and 30.00 (for deposit) and all and all i have to say i had a pretty good time. The furniture in the room isnt bad, just old. The only complaints i really had were that the pillows in the bed were made for you to wake up with neck pain .Uncomfortable, and definately no neck support. I would come back here again but only with my own pillows next time!

Room Tip: if you are a smoker , get a room with a balcony so you can smoke out there rather then constantly sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Just spent 3 night there this week. The room had a few stains on the carpet but was clean. Clean towels every day, bed was made and everything was cleaned. Great location with everything within walking distance, nice restraunts, subway and even Mcdonalds. Would def stay there again. No hassles in or out.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

$70 for a very shabby "non-smoking room" that stank of cigarettes. Rust and mould in the bathroom, stains on the walls, crusty carpets and bedding. Retro 1970's decor. A rip off!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Need a quick place to rent a room? Not worried about peculiar stains on the carpets and walls? This is the place for you! For $70/night (or $60 if you stay on a weeknight) you can't go wrong. All they had were smoking rooms so I was even able to smoke pot in my motel room. WINNING.... Don't forget to lock your door - a lot of strange stuff goes on in that place at night.....

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010 via mobile

I was surprised how clean the rooms are and that they have new carpet and furniture in the room. although the lobby and hallways are Out dated and the carpet is stained the room was shockingly nice. I stayed one night and it only cost $60.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

Well, first off, it's got some foibles. Reservations are only accepted on the day you arrive. The motel's policies are designed to be systematically cynical and paranoid, up to and including asking customers to describe their cars' appearance so they can keep track of who's in the parking lot (all of this is a bit bothersome, but I can't say I blame them). You only get one room key. Wireless internet costs extra. The folks at the front desk are usually bordering on comatose. No breakfast, and the free coffee in the office is just as bad as you'd expect. If you can get past all of that, though, the Avenue is a heck of a bargain for the money. The place looks a bit like a dive from the exterior (the paint is chipping, etc.), but once you get inside everything's actually quite nice. No frills to be found (aside from a TV), of course, but then this isn't really a whirlpool bath and mini-bar kind of joint. You don't stay here to host a party (and anyways, the staff will warn you against it): you stay here for an inexpensive place to sleep, bathe, and stash your stuff while you explore the Toronto area. The bathroom is clean, the beds are comfortable, the closet is roomy, and at this price what more do you want?

The motel's location is also quite good, all things considered. It's well outside of Toronto proper, but on the road you're three minutes from 427 and fifteen from the airport. There are some surprising finds in the local area as well. As tempting as it may be, don't just stick to the McDonald's immediately outside of your room: the rest of the neighborhood, while mostly filled with blocks upon blocks of furniture stores, also has some wonderful Indian, Vietnamese, and Chinese restaurants within easy walking distance. Scout around.

Basically, if you're considering this place at all it's because of the price. If you're reading this review, it's because you're worried that your stay might end up a nightmare. Trust me: assuming you can shrug off a bit of suspicion from the staff and don't have completely unrealistic expectations for a $60 motel, you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Awful Coffee
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Motel

Address: 1060 Dundas Street East, Mississauga, Ontario L4Y 2B8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Mississauga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 59 Hotels in Mississauga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Mississauga
Avenue Motel Mississauga, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.