We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Airport Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Airport Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Airport Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Airport Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5585 Ambler Drive | (Hwy 401 & Dixie Rd), Mississauga, Ontario L4W3Z1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #33 of 58 Hotels in Mississauga
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Decent Airport Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I arrived into Toronto around midnight so staying near the airport was going to be the most convenient. Obviously you wouldn't stay here if you want to go downtown, it's too hard to get there.

Not far from the main road, you can get a bus to the shops, I took the bus down the Dixie Outlet Mall in the morning for something to do before I checked out. Not much in the way of food - there is a Subway and NYC Fries and something else (forget the name) nearby, but it's still a little bit of a walk in the cold (I visited during winter).

Rooms were decent enough, it's basic and clean. Gym is small, but has what most people need. Breakfast choice was much better than the other HI Express I stayed at... Food was decent.

The shampoo and conditioner smelt like cinnamon bubblegum but it did the job.

Staff were nice and courteous, but didn't really do anything to exceed my expectations which is absolutely fine for a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    74
    36
    11
    13
See reviews for
50
44
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I reviewed this hotel about one year ago. At that time, I gave it a good review, in spite of my thinking it had a bit of a worn quality. Based on a recent stay, I am happy to report that all the positive qualities mentioned in my previous review are still valid. And, I'm delighted to report that the hotel has, indeed, undergone a facelift since my last stay. According to a staffer, it was not a complete renovation (e.g., the furniture was not replaced) rather, a freshening up of the hotel. Believe me, it shows! The tired look is completely gone and while the hotel seemed quite clean before, it is now immaculate. The breakfast room is also more appealing than before. Kudos to hotel management for this most welcome transformation.I highly recommend this hotel for either an airport overnight or a Hershey Centre event.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasaga beach canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Nice hotel, room clean,However if you are parking and flying i would not recommend this hotel. After a long flight we had to wait one hour for the shuttle, thats not fun in the cold. Would not stay at this hotel again, and we are frequent travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Airport Area, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear amber2366,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am delighted you found our hotel nice and our room clean. My apologies for the inconvenience you had with the airport shuttle. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Nothing special here. Smaller rooms or they seemed that way - treadmill in work out rooms need replaced and add dumbbells higher than 25lbs. Bed was comfortable and shower was standard. I would stay here again but the workout room needs revamped. Customer service was good and the lady working the breakfast area was really nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Airport Area, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear jackcharles,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed on 3 Jan as we were flying to Miami the following day. The outside of the hotel is a little bit dated however we found the furniture typical in any Holiday Inn Express. The only thing that was bugging me was a patio door to get outside. We chose this hotel mainly for its deal that allows you to park your vehicle up to 14 days at a reasonable price which is way cheaper than the Park & Fly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

To be fair we showed up right after a snowstorm and the line up with stranded AC passengers was huge, So bad start for sure, however the night manager was impressive when dealing with the hordes. I personally would have lost it on at least one of them.
The room while updated was almost "busy" with a bit to much stuff for its size. Slept well though and served its purpose as a airport hotel. Average but a decent deal

Room Tip: Ask for room not on ground floor as vehicles drive right by the windows in the morning as they exit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Airport Area, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear lifeboat19,

Thank you for your candid feedback. It is unfortunate you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations, but I am pleased you did enjoy a good nights sleep. We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel, and your feedback will help us to do so.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed in Nov on our way to Cuba for two weeks. Registration was easy and the room clean & comfortable; if a little cramped with the two queen beds. The hot breakfast was good and well stocked.

The bonus here is the stay and fly package. $157 with tax for our stay and two weeks of parking on site. Upon returning the shuttle driver took us straight to our van and unloaded our luggage directly into the vehicle; saving us from unloading at the front counter and then loading it up again.

Will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Airport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Airport Area

Address: 5585 Ambler Drive | (Hwy 401 & Dixie Rd), Mississauga, Ontario L4W3Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Mississauga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 58 Hotels in Mississauga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Airport Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to announce that we are now a 100% smoke free property Whether traveling on business or pleasure you know you have made the smart choice when you stay at the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Airport Area Mississauga hotel Mississauga 's Holiday Inn Express Toronto Airport Area is on the cutting edge of style, comfort & amenitiesLocated off Hwy 401 minutes from Toronto's Pearson International Airport the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Airport Area Mississauga hotel is in close proximity to Square One, Hershey Centre, Ice Land Sports Complex, Playdium, Mississauga Living Art Centre, International Centre, Panasonic, Pepsi, GE and many more attractions and businessesFor convenience the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Airport Area hotel in Mississauga offers Free 24-Hr Airport Shuttle service to and from Toronto's Pearson International Airport For airport pick up call the hotel directly and let us know you have arrivedTo discover all of our great complimentary features; High Speed Wireless Internet, Local Calls etc & great rates keep clicking through this site you might just be pleasantly surprisedSee you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Airport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Airport Area Hotel Mississauga
Holiday Inn Mississauga
Holiday Inn Express Mississauga
Mississauga Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Airport Area Mississauga, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Airport Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.