We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Vegan zone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zen Gardens

Zen Gardens
6980 Maritz Drive | Unit 6, Mississauga, Ontario ON L5W 1Z3, Canada
905-461-2498
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 1,235 Restaurants in Mississauga
Cuisines: Chinese, Vegetarian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“In the Vegan zone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I was looking for a quiet restaurant in Mississauga. Zen Gardens came up. Tripadvisor reviews were good so I dared go to my first vegetarian restaurant. I am not vegetarian by any means but the food in this restaurant tastes really good. The lady who served us was asking if we are to share the entrees which was an odd question. When the food came, the servings were humongous! Lol. The picture of the veg tempura was half eaten (yeah forgot to take pic of it before it got devoured). So that’s what the question was all about.

The restaurant has a very zen ambience. It is decent, modern, clean and spacious. We ordered tempura, cutlet with mango and curry. All veggies. Imagine that, no meat mom! The food is very refreshing and filling. They have ginger tea with a choice of ginger leaf or the root. Huh. They have a function room where they have tea ceremony on Sundays. Interesting.

This place is highly recommended to enjoy and appreciate what the vegan world has to offer. Will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Etobicoke
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Vegan food that tastes like meat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My daughter and I visit frequently. We're hooked on this place. The tea is really tasty and healthy. The food is fresh and made with Seitain, soy, mushroom, plant proteins and other yummy stuff. The only problem is they are so far away from us, but we still make the trip to eat there. The atmosphere is very relaxing. I think I will suggest the Canadian show "you gotta eat here" visit this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OOooommmm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I had such an excellent lunch here! Zen Gardens is a wonderful vegan restaurant with a variety of dishes: Appetizers, Dim-Sum, Soups, Main dishes, Hot Pots, Teas and so much more. Everything we had was absolutely delicious. We had the Sushi combo, a vegetable dish, spring rolls, sticky rice and oolong tea. Everything was absolutely perfect. The service was very friendly. They even sell loose leaf tea and very nice tea sets. If you are tired of eating meat, or are a vegan/vegetarian already, you will love this place. No meat is needed indeed!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
“Be in the zen zone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great soups, versatality with soy and tofu, great choice on the menu. Loved the ambience. Great service

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa canada
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Excellent Vegetarian restaurant,though a bit off the beaten path.Tried the dinner combo which was very tasty,a good way to try several dishes

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zen Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Zen Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zen Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.