We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Mexican food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Sombrero

El Sombrero
35 Brunel Rd, Mississauga, Ontario L4Z 3E8, Canada
(905) 502-0011
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 1,230 restaurants in Mississauga
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout
Dana Point, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Mexican food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Having lived in Southern California for 12 years I was skeptical about finding "real" Mexican food in Mississauga. El Sombrero catered a party for us and the food was fantastic. Fresh, tasty and great portions. Best guacamole north of the 49th - it's the real deal. If you are searching for an authentic Mexican meal stop here. Oh, and save room for dessert!! Bonuelos are a chocoholics dream and the Torija are amazing. We will be back whenever we are in town!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    17
    16
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great value, and the food is very authentic everyday Mexican food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stopped here last night with a friend who had been here before and receomended it to us. We very much enjoyed the food and value, the restaurant is a little small and non descript but the food is great and teh value is a WOW. We will definately come here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The restaurant is simple and cozy, and the food was tasty. The price wasn't that cheap but not unreasonable. We had 3 different dishes and they were all pretty good.

The salsa that came with the chips didn't taste that fresh. Almost as if it came from a jar. But everything else--service, flavor and ,ambiance was good. Nice people! Great Mexican place to eat, clean washroom, too!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great flavors!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

One of the best place I've eaten. Burrito is huge and prices are fare. Plus they have beer. It's set up like a fast food place and if the weather is bad 1/2 of their seating is outside

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I had stopped her after intending to go to the Subway next door but this place looked intriguing enough to lure me in. The food was pretty good and seemed fresher than your run of the mill taqueria. It is worth checking out if you are off of Hurontario & Brittania Rds in Missassauga.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sombrero also viewed

Mississauga, Ontario
Mississauga, Ontario
 

Been to El Sombrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sombrero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.