We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest banya near Mississauga/Etobicoke” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The South-Western Bathhouse Tea Room

The South-Western Bathhouse Tea Room
2200 Dundas St. E, Mississauga, Ontario 75007, Canada
289-232-6088
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 1,305 Restaurants in Mississauga
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: We are a family business dedicated to preserving the Russian Bathhouse tradition. We invite you to join us in this cultural staple! Call it a Sauna, Steam Room, Spa, Baths or Banya, it's an ideal place to unwind and enjoy good company! Our facilities include a traditional Russian Banya, a dry Finnish Sauna and a Turkish Hamam. Robes, towels, slippers, lockers and a premium selection of teas are provided free of charge.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nicest banya near Mississauga/Etobicoke”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I've been so many banyas before but this was different.

Food- I'm a foodie so first off the food was not only very affordable but it was like your mom cooking for you. I had the sausages and traditional Russian cake. They said everything is made from scratch and it made a difference.

Steam- The steam rooms are proper. Hot and nice to be in. I was surprised to see so many Canadians there because usually it's just Russians. I guess ppl are getting into it from all backgrounds

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The best sauna in Toronto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I were trying to find a true sauna in the greater Toronto area that specifically offered authentic Turkish steam baths. We were never able to find one; all of the places that said they had the authentic Turkish baths were tepid rooms with very little steam. And then we found this place: this is the real deal. The Turkish steam bath was full of steam and very hot and refreshing! A truly authentic experience.

Not only that, this sauna also offers a Russian style sauna called a banya that is again very refreshing and hot,with a cool off pool right next to it. There's also another classic type dry sauna that most of us are familiar with. There are a variety of complimentary teas offered to all patrons, which again are a nice touch amidst the relaxing atmosphere.

My girlfriend and I each got robes, towels, a locker with magnetic lock bracelet, and access to all of the saunas and tea for 30 bucks each, which is a great value. There's a little restaurant in there too that makes home-cooked authentic Russian food for good prices.

Overall my experience was great. The staff, which consists of a husband/wife team and their daughter, were very welcoming and helpful. The facilities were clean and easy to navigate. The clientele was respectful. The food was good. I have nothing bad to say about the place.

My only concern is that its location is in the side alley of a commercial plaza, and it has no sign at the front to indicate its presence to passers by. Granted, when my girlfriend and I went there were a lot of people there, but I think more people should know about this place.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Sauna around Toronto!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

The decorations are so nice and the three steam rooms are quality. The food is really the best. The owners are a nice married Russian couple. They will chat with you and introduce you to real Russian customs and food! Love the atmosphere! Only wish it was less for entry as I end up spending so much on food. The food is a great price though.

Not sure why there are reviews below about a place in Texas! This place is in Mississauga, Canada!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“If you like Borsch, this...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

If you like Borsch, this is your place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A good find within Dallas Fort Worth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

People often say that Dallas Fort Worth is too sterile and doesn't have the character and variety of other cities. "Too many chain restaurants", "Not enough history and culture" you hear them say. I always tell that the variety and character of the city may not be as obvious in Plano as it is in Austin but there is variety and character if you know where to look.

The Russian Banya Family Day Spa is a big reminder and example of that. Located in traditional suburbia where Plano and Dallas converge and "President George Bush Freeway" roams, you find a Russian restaurant? Serving Borsch? Are you kidding me? Well you do, and it is pretty good. So if you are looking at trying something different and fun, this is your place and is worth the try. The Russian Banya is set up in two different parts, you have the spa & sauna side and you have the restaurant & banquet side. It actaully kind of reminds be in total of being a Russian country club but that is open to the general public. The restaurant is open every day and that also serve take out. I definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The South-Western Bathhouse Tea Room also viewed

 
 

Been to The South-Western Bathhouse Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The South-Western Bathhouse Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.