We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good food! Service! Atmosphere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gainsborough Restaurant

Gainsborough Restaurant
1579 Hyde Park Rd # 2, London, Ontario, Canada
(519) 472-4168
Improve this listing
Ranked #164 of 835 Restaurants in London
Restaurant details
London, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always good food! Service! Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have been going for a few years now. Tried pretty much everything on the menu and have never had a bad meal! My favourite is probably their home made fries! Love them! Always great service, even when the place is packed. Love the atmosphere! Always has a hockey game on the tv which my husband appreciates :) I love looking at all the memorabilia :) we believe this to be one of London's best kept secrets!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice and basic neighbourhood hangout”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

The staff are nice and friendly. It is a family run restaurant. Closed Sundays. The food is okay. If you are looking for a selection of low calorie or health food this is not the place. They don't do poached eggs. They serve home fries but don't always have them. Their peameal bacon serving consists or 2 or 3 huge half inch thick pieces.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food ,great price,great people there.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Moved to north 6 years ago and found the restaurant on a whim, but has without a doubt become our all time favourite restaurant. Love all the food but order chicken souvlaki,for myself every time now and pountine for my daughter. You could not ask for a nicer family atmosphere, laugh with the staff every time we go in.have recommended the place to everyone.Enjoy!


Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“If you're in the area, worth a shot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Was in the area and saw their banner advertising "homemade burgers" so I thought I'd give it a shot. Overall, it was a good experience. Ordered a cheeseburger and fries. The burger was flavorful, tasted pretty fresh and had a good char on it. Slightly underseasoned though. The fries were delicious, homemade and not too greasy. The atmosphere was traditional Canadian diner, a little drab but it could be due to the fact that I went there on a Saturday afternoon. If you're in the area, you might want to give it a try!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Pretty good, for the price. Having been there to pick it up, I would not go in to eat but I would go in to get take away food. Kids like the pizza, so we'll keep going in when we need cheap pizza for the kids.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gainsborough Restaurant also viewed

London, Ontario
London, Ontario
 

Been to Gainsborough Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gainsborough Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.