We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Pricing Could be Better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hillside

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hillside
26 Kilworth Park Drive a, London, Ontario, Canada
519 641-6733
Improve this listing
Ranked #176 of 858 restaurants in London
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Greek, Italian, Canadian
Restaurant details
Chatham, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Good Food, Pricing Could be Better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Went to this restaurant with my father as he remembers the owners when they had a restaurant within Byron. Their menu is varied and definitely family oriented. Some of the items though were a little overpriced for a restaurant of this type, especially the burgers and steak. I had the pickerel dinnerspecial which was good. They grill it so it had that nice delicate flavor that pickerel should. I would recommend however that they remove the skin on the backside when they do this for better eating and presentation. Sherry was our server and she took good care of us with a pleasant manner and helpful suggestions.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    8
    5
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Restaurant Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I live not far from this restaurant but had never been there until the last few months. I've now been there three times and have enjoyed my meal every time.

Their soups are very tasty, their prime rib is reasonably priced and excellent. Their hamburgers are huge and very good. For the kids, the servings are large. My grandsons had chicken fingers and they kept saying how big they were. The only improvement would if the vegetbales were fresh; they tend to use frozen vegetables.

The restaurant gets quite busy on the weekend evenings. It is quite popular with the senior crowd. Food tends to be a little slow in coming to the table.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Loved the liver & onions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were mulling over places to have dinner and the question came up " do you like liver & onions?" My answer was a big "yes." My friend said "I know where they have wonderful liver & onions, The Hillside." Off we went to have a wonderful dinner at a very charming spot. The service was quick the food very delicious. The Hillside is somewhat of a throw back to an earlier time before the era of fast food. I think you will enjoy.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Family Restaurant in London Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Restaurant serves the best beef and seafood dinners in the London area. Staff is always friendly (family atmosphere) and very accommodating. Price and value is excellent. Definitely fine dinning without the price. My wife and I visit Hillside at least once a week to enjoy the prime rob of beef and/or pickeral dinner specials. Pizza and panzerotti can't be beat by the other fast food restaurants. defintely worth the short drive to Kilworth for a great meal.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Stay away, stay far away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

If you are over the age of 75 with no taste buds, you will absolutely love this all caned, frozen cuisine.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillside also viewed

 

Been to Hillside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.