We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waldo's on King

Waldo's on King
130 King St., London, Ontario N6A 1C5, Canada (Central London)
519-433-6161
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 871 Restaurants in London
Price range: $21 - $27
Cuisines: Dessert, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central London
London, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very good!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went on Saturday night and when we arrived we found the restaurant to be full and very loud...we were placed in the centre and felt like at any moment we were either going to bumped or be picking someone else's dinner out of our hair...That having been said however...the food was amazing!! And the wine that our server helped us choose was very good!!! We were very pleased with our server...but unfortunately, she never told us her name...and quite happy we didn't get her coworker...who was quite brisk and rude to both her fellow staff and customers...The restaurant is beautiful inside and as i already mentioned the food was wonderful. We will definitely return!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    30
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
“Let Mark decide and create”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had a special celebration and we asked Mark if he could make/create a very special dining experience including the appropreate wine for 10 people. Mark and his staff came up with a 8 course dinner,all small bites, but each with their own character. The food was impeccable, the presentation and the accompagning explanation was very thoughtfully done and the wine pairing excellent. Needless to say we had marvelous experience and the staff was absolutely perfect.For those who want to know, yes it costed some money but the memory will last forever and the money we spend we already forgot. Mark , we started already saving money for the next time!! J&R. Thanks again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not To Be Missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

What treats await you at Waldo's! Superior food and drink, served by a caring and knowledgeable staff,and a friendly "hands on" manager/owner. Waldo's has a diverse and well thought out menu to satisfy all tastes ansd preferences, and always served with skill and efficiency, by a superior staff. Waldo's will remain "top of mind" and a standard against which we judge quality,service and memorable dining experiences. What made it so special for the three of us was the warm welcome we recieved each of the four times we returned for lunch or dinner, during a very busy Worlds Figure Skating competition.
You have to experience this exceptional "bistro". Being close to Budwieser Arena doesn't hurt either. We all miss it now that we are home.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Classy bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Good food and wine at reasonable prices with good service. We had 2 interesting salads: my wife had a tuna appetizer which was prepared perfectly and I had the lake Eire perch along with 5 different glasses of wine (it is after all a bistro & wine bar) between us. All things considered, a good meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Today my workplace had reserved a large table at Waldo's over lunch and the food was great, however the server was very rude. Over half of my table was very disappointed in how the server treated us. It was an issue when we had uneaten food that we politely asked to be packed. It was an issue to have separate bills which we mentioned we were doing upon arrival and when the reservation was scheduled. This the second time we have had a business lunch at Waldo's where the server made the table feel as though we were bothering her and she was huffing at us. I spoke to the manager who went on to say that the server is very lovely, but stressed out today and he stated he didn’t know what to say. If the server is having a bad day, that is not our problem and we shouldn't be made to feel like we were a serious inconvenience when we are paying for lunch. There was no check up to make sure we all had our food and someone’s side was missed as well. I have never called a restaurant before to make a complaint; but my workplace was so agitated by her behaviour and I am so irritated with the disrespect we experienced.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waldo's on King also viewed

 

Been to Waldo's on King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldo's on King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.