We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For all ages, memories for life, a yearly event.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fanshawe Pioneer Village

Fanshawe Pioneer Village
2609 Fanshawe Park Road East, London, Ontario N5X 4A1, Canada
519 457-1296
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 35 Attractions in London
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“For all ages, memories for life, a yearly event.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The park has been around for many generations to enjoy. The camping, sites, lake, villages and events are the same only better as we age. Small differences are noticeable but do not take away from a place that all Londoners have loved from the first visit decades ago.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    38
    10
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pioneer Villagers in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have been here in summer and in OCtober--when they have the Halloween haunting special. That was a lot of fun and the whole family enjoyed--even though our children were older by then. In summer, we first went, when our children were younger and it was a great deal of fun, education and interaction. No matter your age, you will enjoy and I encourage all ages to partake in "interactions" with the "townfolk". It is a wonderful day

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucan, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“STEP BACK IN TIME”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Learn what our fore fathers had to do to survive in Ontario...various venues weaving, threshing, black smith,etc. Many weekends special re-enactments of historical events...check out their web site. http://www.fanshawepioneervillage.ca/

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London ontario
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fanshaw Village back to the past.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Every time their is a special event at the village it just adds to the enjoyment for any visit. The buildings are maintained to the highest of standards and the volunteer workers really enjoy their jobs. They will give you the history of the building or the commercial establishment and the signs point to its original location. Preserving history has always been a priority for the Upper Thames Valley Conservation Authority and they do a good job at this site. An added feature is the camping sites next door and a park with picnic sites available.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

A wonderful, fun place to teach your children about our history...You can also enjoy a lovely afternoon tea..

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fanshawe Pioneer Village also viewed

 
 

Been to Fanshawe Pioneer Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fanshawe Pioneer Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.