We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Byron Freehouse

Byron Freehouse
1288 Commissioners Road W, London, Ontario, Canada
+1 519-601-3300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 835 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Bar, International, Bistro, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Neighbourhood Bar and Kitchen featuring a fresh menu with most of our dishes made from scratch on site every day! Sunday Brunch starting at 11 am till 4 pm. Kids menu also available. 11 Beers on tap featuring local craft and traditional favourites. Interested in a Freehouse Martini? We've got it covered...Try the Springbank, or the Hall's Mill! Glass of wine and an appetizer instead? We have a great selection of wines by the glass and bottle and our appetizer menu features a great selection of veggie, seafood, and gluten free options. Byron Freehouse - Pleased to Feed You!
London
1 review
“Best food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The food here is absolutely amazing !! Every time I have been the people have been so nice and friendly, the owner came up to our table and talk to us and she was nothing but amazing !

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    28
    12
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice Neighbourhood Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My family and I have been here a few times and we always quite enjoy it. The menu is comfort/pub food but with fresh homemade ingredients - right down to the ketchup and hot sauce made in-house. I highly recommend the burgers, grilled cheese and fish tacos. Great selection of beer on tap and one of the best patios in the west end!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Cool new Byron spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

A group of 4 went out to dinner on a Saturday night. We were new to the Freehouse, while our friends had been there previously for apps. The construction caused a bit of a roundabout to get to the front door, and we walked in to a half filled restaurant, with a nice ambience; a good balance of traditional and modern. Promptly seated, kudos to our server who was able to rhyme off everything on tap. We started with a variety of apps, Pickles, carpaccio, flatbread and calamari, all of which were average+. Service remained very reliable and our seafood linguine (average, a bit light on the seafood), and blackened salmon and shrimp (very good), led us to some nice desserts to close (Pecan pie and carrot cake). Overall a nice spot we will return to again, though maybe moreso as an evening get together with friends; service and environment were very good, food tended to be slightly on the average side (some better than others). Between Freehouse and Waldo's, Byron is seeing a nice uptick in local establishments.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Loved the lunch special. Always great food and sauces made in house. Construction on road doesn't affect parking or indoor restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, service was only OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Went for an early dinner Saturday night. Sat on the patio and the wrought iron chairs were not very comfortable. We ordered the chicken spring rolls to start, they weren't very good and we had to go back inside to ask for plates. My wife had the Italian Cobb salad, which she enjoyed greatly and I had the Crispy Lake Erie Perch sandwich, which was fantastic. We brought our 2 year old and they had crayons and colouring paper for her. We ordered the Mac & Cheese for her and she loved it. The food is generally very good, their drink selection is very nice. We will come back, but they do need to work out the small details to make it an excellent place to eat.

Also, there is street construction going on in front of the patio but this will hopefully be finished soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byron Freehouse also viewed

 

Been to Byron Freehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byron Freehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.