We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Five Guys

Five Guys
1041 Wellington Road unit #C1, London, Ontario N6E 1W4 , Canada
519-690-2828
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 871 Restaurants in London
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We loved the burgers and fries great job Five Guys.Very warm feeling when eating and very nice staff food hot and fresh yum yum.We will be back cant wait.Please open a location in Port Dover??.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    19
    9
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Burgers and Fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Have been a fan since visiting in NYC. Was thrilled to see them in Canada. Fresh made burgers and fries. A bit pricey in comparison to other "fast food" burgers. But quality and quantity make "5 Guys" worth it. Best selection of toppings, Love the grilled onions and mushrooms, All free...as much or as little as you want. Portions are large, so dont feel "wimpy" about ordering the "Little" burgers. Little just means single patty. Regular means 2 patties. Fresh cut fries, hot from the peanut oil. Again, don't be worried about ordering regular size fries, as the fry container and burgers go in the bag and another scoop thrown in the bag. A regular fry does 2 adult and a 16y/o boy in our house. Even helps keep the food warm on the way home if taking out. Everything cooked to order, so you will wait a bit for your food, Another "worth it " moment. NO drive thru btw.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lives up to the hype!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Heard a lot about this chain from American friends and was excited to hear that they were opening a location in London. I was told that the location's been open for a week and a half.

To start with, the restaurant looks great. As soon as you walk in, you're greeted by bags of potatoes and a sign that advertises where they're from (somewhere in P.E.I if you're curious). There's lots of seating and it has a nice retro feel.

The ordering process wasn't too complicated besides a bit of the terminology ("burger" = two patties, "little burger"= one patty). They don't do "combos" as the fry portions are big enough to split and the drinks are refillable. Getting a few little burgers, a regular portion of fries and a small drink was MORE than enough for two people.

The burger was solid. They were the right thickness, allowing some great char from the flattop. The free toppings included some great tasting options like grilled onions and grilled mushrooms. I'd compare the burger to a place like London classic Prince Albert's. They also did the same toppings on their grilled cheeses, something that I don't normally see offered.

The fries were awesome. They reminded me a bit of New York Fries with more depth of flavour. Our small fry portion was extremely generous, I actually think there were as many fries in our bag as in our cup. Apparently this is a thing. Ask for them to be "cajun" if you want the full Five Guys experience.

I don't normally write about fountain pop but I must say that the Coke Zero at this place was some of the best I've ever tasted. I have no idea if they do something special there.

Overall, a great place that South London sorely needs. Ignore the Harveys/DQ/McDonalds/etc in the area and try this out! You won't be disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our fave!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Great place for a good ol greasy burger! Portions are huge. everything tastes fresh, and toppings are plenty. Always a good spot to visit when you want something quick and casual (but tasty, too!)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“A good burger joint - nothing more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I visited 5 Guys for lunch to see what all the hype was about. Good burgers, good fries, fast service. Good, but not great. Also a little on the pricey side. So, yes it is a welcome addition to the burger and fries genre of mainstream chains but it is still a burger and fries fast food restaurant. Let's not get carried away!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Guys also viewed

 

Been to Five Guys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Guys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.