We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality music” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchestra London

Orchestra London
609 Wellington Street, London, Ontario N6A 3R6, Canada
(519) 679-8778
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 37 Activities in London
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: London, Ontario's professional Orchestra since 1957. Orchestra London performs over 50 concerts every year, including everything from Beethoven to the Beatles, to music for young children. Music Director, Alain Trudel, is in his third season with the orchestra and is conducting some fabulous programs this year. The 2013/2014 lineup will include amazing performances by Angela Cheng, Frederique Vezina, Guy Few, Sarah Slean, Matt Dusk, and many more!
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“quality music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

They really play a fine music and London needs them very much. Especially I like their classical and not the pop performances.
hey alos play for kids and it is a really good experience for the whole family.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mindanao, Philippines
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“London's lucky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

London is lucky to have Orchestra London. The Berlin Philharmonic it ain't, not even the Toronto Symphony, but for a city the size of London we are indeed bless to have this fine orchestra. PLEASE support it by contributions and by making each and every concert a sell-out.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchestraLondon, Sales & Marketing Manager at Orchestra London, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Don,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Orchestra London! We appreciate your support and look forward to seeing you at a concert soon.

Sincerely,

Terri Anne Moses
Sales & Marketing Manager
Orchestra London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Small City, Ontario
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Mix of Music to Enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I subscribed for several years, but find the drive too far so have switched to Waterloo. Orchestra London is to be congratulated for offering a variety of music, form 20th Century challenge to Pop to Bach. Centennial Hall has poor acoustics and a crowd that gets too participatory for my taste, but the various church settings are great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Andre - the Music Director makes it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The orchestra was fun, the music good and the Music Director made the whole thing most enjoyable. The concert we attended seemed to have a few insturments short due to the Christmas season with several musicians elsewhere - but just great

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elora
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An excellent way for students to hear excellent music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I bought a student bottomless pass for the orchestra earlier this year. For $65 dollars I was able to go to every show and get the best seating they had available. The first show I went to with my girlfriend and we got front row balcony seats 25 feet back. It was amazing. I highly recommend this for students who are looking for a great date idea with their significant other. The orchestra is extremely skilled, and if you arrive an hour early the conductor holds a pre-show talk in which he discusses the pieces they will be playing. This is a must for anyone who appreciates music and the skill involved in playing it. 10/10

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchestra London also viewed

 

Been to Orchestra London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchestra London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.