We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally - a London restaurant that lives up to Toronto standards” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abruzzi

Abruzzi
119 King Street, London, Ontario, Canada
519-675-9995
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 871 Restaurants in London
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Organic
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Finally - a London restaurant that lives up to Toronto standards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I know there are a couple of negative reviews, but my experience was very positive. The service was great, the food was excellent. Both my wife and I had the scallop starter: a generous portion that was accompanied by a ham ravioli on a bed of savoy cabbage. mmmmm, yummy. I had the fish sepcial, which was a pan seared walleye. We're not talking about a filet from a stanky 10 lb. Lake Erie walleye here. Rather, this was a whole filet from a small fish caught out of cold clean water. And yes, I know and can taste the difference. Ingredient quality is everything, and this restaurant "gets it". Lastly, my wife had a tiramisu dessert, which was truly sumptuous. This restaurant could compete in Toronto.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    24
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Real Italian food and good service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Never disappointed. Do get a reservation as this is a busy spot. Tables are a bit close together - but then again, they are in Italy as well. Great staff.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always an amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

With a city filled with so many chain restaurants that offer a subpar experience, I recommend Abruzzi to anybody from or visiting London looking for a great meal. The flavours and ingredients will blow you mind, the atmosphere and inviting and trendy but not over the top. It's fine dining without pretentiousness.

The menu isn't huge and because of that I think they can give such detial to every dish they bing out. The owner Robert is kind and always makes you feel appreciated. He is in the right busniess, you can tell he cares about what he's doing.

They offer an extensive amount of wines, specialty coffees and aperitifs that are all wonderful.

I've been there with my boyfriend multiple times, my best friend visiting from out of town and my parents, it doesn't matter who you're with- everytime is incredible.

Spend the extra amount of money and make a night out of it-- you'll be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A real "find" in downtown London, Ontario!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband & I love this restaurant. The atmosphere is relaxed, the food is fresh, fresh, fresh, wonderful organic salads, interesting entrees & a really good selection of wines. The service is excellent but non-intrusive, & diners can take as long as they wish without being hassled.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Greta food - waiter had attitude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The food was fabulous but the waiter had an attitude. He was very efficint but not friendly at all. We were with a big dinner club group and he made us feel like we were an inconvenience. Best Titimisu Ive had in years so it is worth going to.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abruzzi also viewed

 

Been to Abruzzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abruzzi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.