We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Coffee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of London's Farmers Market

London's Farmers Market
900 King Street, London, Ontario N5Y 5P8, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 78 things to do in London
Attraction details
Paris
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

A good selection of fruits and vegetables plus lots of great coffee vendors.A nice cross section of crafts and goods for sale on two floors.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“a must every Saturday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is a good market and it's getting even better... The meat-pies at Dad's are sinfully delicious, as in, you won't find better anywhere. He also makes fine pizza's to take home and cook in your own oven or on the bbq. The Butcher in the corner, next to the pizza, has beautiful sausages, made in house with feta, pear, blue cheese, apple and other delectable flavours stuffed in with the meat. Too lean for the bbq, but great in a cast-iron skillet. Steaks from this butcher have also been wonderful... but the best is the cherry-wood smoked kielbasa... The best I've had in my life.

There is also a new cheese monger at the same end as the meat-pies and she carries a wonderful variety of cheeses that are unusual. The proprietor is really quite generous with samples and very knowledgeable and highly educated in her chosen field. She is friendly and gregarious, approachable, professional. We chose two cheeses to take home, but would love to have taken some of everything she had to offer. We'll be regulars there, undoubtedly.

There is also a great stall offering high quality chocolate. They've been there a long time, stuck in a corner, but now there booth is more central and inviting. I had never stopped in at their old location, but the new one begs for you to stride up to the counter and order several bars to experience all the great varieties of flavours they offer. Oooo, and they serve real hot chocolate.... WOW! Forget the coffee. Indulge in this, instead.

Wish they were open on Thursday and Friday evenings, and Sunday's too, but glad they are there at all...

Don't forget the talented artists on the second level, too...

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Carlo
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Decent selection- Good prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Soldi farmers market. Good friendly people and a wide variety of meat and produce. Found the cleanliness lacking a bit but other than that it was a great time.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Best weekend farmers market in London!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

London's Farmers Market is located in an older two storey brick building on the grounds of the Western Fair just east of downtown. Market days are Saturdays from 8 am to 3 pm with plenty of free parking in front of the main entrance. The first floor is one large open space occupied by a large number of permanent vendors of fresh and prepared foods. It is a busy, friendly and stimulating environment. My wife and I have become regular visitors to the market and are greeted as friends by our favourite vendors. We can never visit the market without having lunch at Momos at the Market, a Nepali lunch counter serving the best value lunch in the city. We are regular customers of A Taste of Hungary owned and operated by Agnes and Miki where we buy fresh home-made farmer-style sausage, cabbage rolls, apple strudel, walnut kifli, goulash and other Hungarian specialties. We pick up our weekly fresh vegetables from another vendor, fresh mushrooms including morels from another, and a recent addition to the market is a vendor who smokes his own pork and sells pulled pork by the pound or on sandwiches. Yummy!
On the second floor are a large number of artisans and flea market vendors and a wonderful coffee shop selling coffee beans and freshly perked coffee by the cup.
I really look forward to my weekly trip to the market. Give it a try!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed London's Farmers Market also viewed

 

Been to London's Farmers Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London's Farmers Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.