We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not worth the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton London Ontario

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton London Ontario to your Saves list
Hilton London Ontario
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 King Street, London, Ontario N6B1S2, Canada (Central London)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good, but not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here a night we were going to go to a concert. The hotel is nicer than your typical hotel but its not up to the standards of other Hilton's we have stayed at. The room was so so for the price we paid. But the location was very good right in the heart of downtown. You do pay for parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Hilton London Ontario, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your brief feedback on your stay. We are glad to have met your needs for the evening and been a convenient location for your activities in the area. We will keep your comments on our brand standards in mind as we constantly look for ways to improve our guest experience and we hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you visit the city.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    187
    103
    44
    30
See reviews for
109
94
49
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Upon arrival we were checked in by Matteo who upgraded us to an executive room on the 20th floor. The room was large, had a good city view, a very comfortable high king bed with great linens and we received 2 bottles of water each day. The decor was dated,worn and in need of refurbishment but the room was very clean. The bathroom had a great shower and was a good size.
In the bar we were served by a most efficient and friendly bartender named Donna.We enjoyed a quick dinner there as well as generous cocktails.
Breakfast was adequate and inexpensive.
Our only glitch was the break down of the elevator on Saturday night. This caused much inconvenience to some of our party but another friendly staff member escorted us to and from our room via the service elevator.
We would definitely return with the hope the same staff would be there to look after our needs

Room Tip: Chose an executive room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando M, Front Office Manager at Hilton London Ontario, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
We thank you for mentioning the good work of our colleagues, who will be recognized for their efforts. I thank you as well for your graciousness and understanding during a brief but rare and unforseen issue with our elevators, that had since been resolved. Our priority is for the safety and security of our valued guests and it was essential that the problem was fixed and therefore we had to make some minor adjustments that might have caused some incovenience, and for that we sincerely apologize. We're looking forward to be of service again to you, so please visit us again! On behalf of the Hilton London Team, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is great hotel located conveniently in downtown London. The staff is very friendly and efficient. The bed is very comfy and the room is very clean and nice, although it is a little dated. Breakfast food is good and the waiters great. Definitely consider staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando M, Front Office Manager at Hilton London Ontario, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and valuable feedback. Update plans for our property are constantly in motion and 2013 is no different. In the mean time, our commitment is to deliver to your expectations, not just in the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms, but in the warmth and friendliness of our entire team. We look forward to being of service to you again in the future. Thank you for choosing the Hilton Hotel London Ontario.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here many years ago for business and our stay was pleasant. We recently stayed here for a family event, and everything went wrong, and we had to fight management to make it right.

Firstly, you have certain expectations of a Hilton for reliable, standard accomodation. That's why you book at a Hilton. This property is dated. For example, in our room the wallpaper was peeling off, the carpet dated, the bathroom worn and dated.

We were offered, and agreed to pay $20 extra from our basic room rate of $118 for a deluxe room on the business class floor. Don't expect much, other than being on a higher floor. There was a hocky tournament and the hotel was crawling with loud, obnoxious kids with no adult supervision.

The really bad part of our experience was that when we awoke in the morning, there was no hot water. Let me repeat, no hot water. Nada. We called, and called, and called. After being on hold for what felt like forever, the were reassured the hot water would be on in 30 minutes. We had a family brunch to attend, and explained this fact, but the hot water never came. We were delayed over 3 hours. We missed our brunch, and my husband's repeated pleas for a true estimate of when the hot water would return, and subsequent request for accomodation at another hotel where we could shower, were denied. We were offered $20 off our bill.

Would anyone agree to book a room in a hotel at a $20 discount knowing that you cannot shower? It is insulting. The lack of hot water, coupled with the lack of accurate information caused us to miss our family brunch, check out 3 hours late, and management's dodgey and irresponsible behaviour dispelled what little relaxation we had.

Only after my husband called back again and spoke to head office did they agree to refund our entire bill, which was appreciated, however we had to put in way too much effort, energy and time to acheive a favorable resolution.

We would not recommend this property, nor would we stay here again.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here. It's not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Hilton London Ontario, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies again for the poor experience you had during your recent stay with us. We understand your frustration with our hot water issue and apologize it caused you to miss your family function. We are glad to have reached an appropriate resolution and that the matter has been settled. Please know that our water issue has been addressed and that we welcome you to visit us again and experience the quality hotel stay you deserve, the next time you are in the area. If we may be of any additional assistance or if you would like to discuss your stay further please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Although my stay was short, I found the room to be very clean, nice bedding, and very quiet. I would stay at this hotel again in the future, the staff was friendly, and the location was very convenient for me.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando M, Front Office Manager at Hilton London Ontario, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
I am so pleased to hear that everything went well and to your expectations, thank you for choosing the Hilton London as your first choice in accommodations. Your kind words are sincerely appreciated, and we look forward to serve you once again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

A nice, clean centrally-located hotel. Friendly staff. Very comfortable bed. Attractively decorated rooms. Good buffet breakfast. 15 minute walk from the interesting bars and restaurants on Richmond St. Pretty close to the Bud/John Labatt Centre if you're in town to see the Knights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando M, Front Office Manager at Hilton London Ontario, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words, and I am glad to know we delivered to your expectations. While we do take pride in the friendliness and service of our team, nothing beats a great location when you need one. Being in downtown allows our guests a multitude of options for dinner and entertainment, and be spared of the challenges in parking or cab fares. We do hope that you visit us once again soon, and thank you for supporting our hockey team, the London Knights as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were just going to the Wine and food show and thoguht we would stay over night with another couple. Front desk was on top of their game, mix-up on dates for rooms not their fault taken care of ASAP. After the trip to the show back to the dining room service was excellant. The server in the morning for breackfast was 5 start plus. All of us have travelled to different parts of the world and agreed that it had been quite a while since we had service like this. Toe top it all off the breakfast room was very busy but Abby made it seem like we were the only ones she was taking care of.

Room Tip: Higher always is better for us anyway. North side is away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando M, Front Office Manager at Hilton London Ontario, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Glad to hear that you had a great experience on your recent visit, thank you for choosing the Hilton London. While rare, every now and then, errors may occur regarding reservations. Our friendly front office team are trained to identify and resolve any issues that may occur and have our guests into their bed rooms quickly and hassle free. Thanks for mentioning Abby, we sincerely appreciate it. We do our best to recognize our team mates that deliver beyond expectations, and you've just given us another chance to do so. We hope to serve you again soon, and thanks for the visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton London Ontario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Ontario

Address: 300 King Street, London, Ontario N6B1S2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > London > Central London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#13 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton London Ontario 3.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton London Ontario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Ontario Hotel London
London Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton London Ontario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.