We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, staff, accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   374 Dundas St., London, Ontario N6B 1V7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #16 of 41 hotels in London
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Great location, staff, accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This hotel is really just what you want for a stay in London. Centrally located in the downtown area, it makes for easy access to anything you want to do in London. It’s within walking distance to Victoria Park, great restaurants, etc. The staff was so friendly and very helpful with any need or question we had about our London stay. The breakfast was fresh and hot. Wi-Fi access is free with their code. Room was comfortable with a nice ninth floor view overlooking the town below. We stayed in a King suite with king bed that was very comfortable, pillow selections were nice. In the second room there was a pull out sofa bed with a mattress typical of sofa beds (bar in the middle!), but both rooms were comfortable with large TVs, and there was a single serve coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator that made for a nice little home away from home. No closet, just an armoire, so that was a bit cramped. Overall this is a clean, comfortable hotel with a great staff for a fair price, just what you’d expect from a HIE. We’ll be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ninth floor has a pretty view of the city below
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Osprey7,
Thank you for the wonderful review, sounds like you took advantage of everything our hotel had to offer.
Being centrally located in the downtown area definitely has its advantages, as it gives all our guests a wider selection of places to eat and things to do since many are located within walking distance.
The pillows, TV’s and single serve coffee makers are new changes we have just introduced in 2013 to try and make our guests' stay more enjoyable, and we are happy to hear that we are succeeding.
Thank you for choosing us for your accommodation while in London and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sara Donkervoort
General Manager.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    57
    37
    4
    9
See reviews for
34
29
16
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emo, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Loved the cleanliness and handy to good eats. VERY informative front staff! Good stay! Was close enough to walk to nice dinner and not have to drive again for the day.
Handy to any shopping (drive) and close enough to convention centers etc. Great room layout albeit, cozy.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Aurorajo,
What a lovely review to read just before going home at the end of the day, Thank you. It definitely is going to make me leave with a smile.
I am glad that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and found the central location to be of value and convenience for you. We re very fortunate to have staff that have been with us for a while so they know the local area very well.
Next time you are in London I hope we will get the chance to accommodate you again

Sara Donkervoort
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I booked this hotel as a group booking, stayed here for one night and everything was very good!! Room was a little small but comfortable.

Our group came in a little late, someone made noise in the hallway and a hotel guest must have called and complained to security, because they were up in a flash to shut down our gathering in a suite. The hotel could have been a little lenient, but they did suggest we go down to the lobby and finish off our partying.

Overall great experience, did not try the breakfast but liked the fact that pasrking was included in our hotel cost. The front desk staff were very good. THANK YOU Julie for all your help doing this group booking!!

Room Tip: If its going to snow park in the covered parking!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
rob_dufour,
Thank you for taking the time to write up a review about your recent stay at our hotel and I will definitely pass on your wonderful message to Julie.
We are happy to hear that you found the rooms comfortable and to your liking. We do hope you understand that we try and offer a secure and comfortable environment for all our guests to ensure they are able to get a good night's rest. Therefore, we are glad that our security officer was able to show an alternate area where you could enjoy the rest of your night socializing.
Hopefully next time you stay with us you will have a chance to enjoy the many breakfast items we have on our breakfast bar; might I suggest the Buttermilk Pancakes, they are delicious.

Hope to see you again,
Sara Donkervoort
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a nice limited service hotel. Breakfast is enough to get you going, rooms are clean and packed with plenty of furniture for the size of the rooms. Bathrooms are a bit small also but clean. Parking has a low height requirement of 6 ft 2 in. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
djdahlen,
Thank you for the nice words. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and your overall stay with us at the hotel.
In regards to the parking restriction, we have this in place only for our underground covered parking but we also have two uncovered above ground parking lots that can definitely accommodate larger vehicles. During your next stay with us, if you have any questions in regards to parking, our front office staff will be more than happy to assist you.
Thank you again for writing a review and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Sara Donkervoort
General Manager”
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Bare bones Holiday Inn Express in London Ontario.
My main beef was the tempearture in the room: plain cold when I arrived, but thermostat was off and would not turn back on. Front desk staff came up and realized the radiator was off too. Thermostat turned on after turning on radiator which then blew cold air for an hour :-(. I cranked thermostat to 25C and it finally started to produce warm air. After that I was in for a noisy rest of the night, as the fan would alternate 5 noisy minutes on and 1 blessed minute off. The room eventually warmed up by the morning. It was not a good night to say the least.
I will say that staff was courteous, location is pretty close to downtown and the free breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Caritimo,
Thank you for taking the time to write up a review about your recent stay with us.
We are happy to hear that you found the staff to be pleasant and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast.
It is our standard to have the thermostat at a certain temperature in the rooms and it is a very unusual circumstance that it was off, we will look into this and ensure consistency in maintaining a comfortable temperature for all our rooms.
We apologize that the heating system created problems during your stay, our maintenance team has addressed this issue for future guests.
We truly hope that you will give us another try should you return to the London Area.
Kind regards,
Sara Donkervoort
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

A colleague and I were in town for a conference and we chose this hotel for its central location and parking. Our two night stay had its ups and downs. The good: the staff are very friendly, it is close to restaurants and pubs, very comfortable beds, mini fridge in room, good continental breakfast, no issues with wireless. The not so good: the room is very dark and cramped. The full length mirror is useless because there is no lighting anywhere near it. My colleague and I were stepping on each other in the tiny, tiny room. The bathtub didn't drain properly. The parking lot is so tight, we barely fit the compact car. The second night there was a domestic disturbance next door that went all through the night. Other guests above us were stomping on the floor to make them stop. The police had to come (we could hear everything) and in the end they weren't even kicked out because I saw them the next morning. The slamming of doors continued for hours. I think I had 2 hours of sleep that night and had to drive 8 hours that day. What I will say is that the hotel appropriately discounted our bill as a result of this terrible night. This does not go unnoticed and I commend them for that. I know that a hotel cannot choose their guests but managing the guests who are causing disturbances is imperative.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Solotripping,
Thank you for your review about your experience at our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you found our services and amenities to your satisfaction and enjoyed our central location in the downtown area.
We apologize that you found our rooms small and dark, however, we do offer a variety of room types and sizes in our quaint property and hopefully during your next stay, you could try out one of our suites which is extremely spacious and well lit.
Unfortunately, there are occasions where we have some guests that cause some disturbance and there are instances where the police are called to ensure there is no security issue as the safety of our guests is our top priority.
We do hope that when you return to London, you will give us an opportunity to offer you a comfortable and relaxing stay.
Sara Donkervoort
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Could there be some improvements to this hotel, yes. But regardless of some issues with the hotel itself. I must say that the staff is always friendly and more than willing to assist with any of your needs during your stay.
The downside is that many of the rooms are very small. If you are by yourself it wouldn't be an issue but more than that, yes. I had problems with my room cooling, and the carpet was separating from the tile leading to the bathroom.
The internet was great I was actually calling home on FaceTime with no issues and steaming a movie at the same time. Yes you might have to log in if your computer goes to sleep, but it worked great.
My air conditioner did not work, but I was able to open the window and that was more than able to cool the room.
I have stayed here twice now and it seems to be very consistent. The breakfast is pretty good as well.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
dkrug10042,
I am so happy you have made us your choice for accommodations when you visit London Ontario. I know there are a lot of choices for consumers now so Thank You!
Sorry about the problems you had during your stay abut it is nice that you were able to enjoy your stay anyhow and found the staff very helpful & friendly. There is nothing I can do about the room size but I will definitely be looking into issues we can fix with the room.
Thank you again for choosing us and writing up a review about your stay.
See you next time you are in London.
Sara Donkervoort
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown

Address: 374 Dundas St., London, Ontario N6B 1V7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your pleasure, our excellent London accommodations offer you free high-speed wireless Internet access and a complimentary hot breakfast. Our hotel amenities also include a fitness centre & a business centre. We hope you will explore our exceptional London hotel deals and rates as you start planning your trip to London, Ontario today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites London Downtown
Holiday Inn Express London
Holiday Inn London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.