We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, service and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   374 Dundas St., London, Ontario N6B 1V7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #17 of 41 hotels in London
Blenheim, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location, service and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Decided to try this hotel based on reviews. We were very glad we did. We came to London to visit friends and see a London Knights hockey game. Had stayed at the other major hotels in downtown London before and found this to be much better. This hotel is exactly what we needed without the things we don't ever use (pool, in-room movies, restaurant). We had a junior suite (separate bedroom from living area). It was extremely quiet, clean and the bed was amazing. The bathroom was updated with a great shower. The refrigerator and microwave were handy too! The breakfast which was included had a great selection of both hot and cold items. No need to eat breakfast out. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The underground parking (there is an additional charge) was very convenient. Because we were downtown, we did not need the car all weekend. Downtown London has a lot to offer. There are many restaurants, movie theatres, shops and bookstores which we love. Check out the ongoing book sale at the London Pubic Library! We will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Top floor end unit was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Timing001,
Thank you for the tip about the London Public Library (Central Location) ongoing Book Sale.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and it sounds like you took advantage of some of the things Downtown has to offer.
Thank you for sharing your experience for people to see and I hope that we see you again.

Sara Donkervoort
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    56
    36
    4
    9
See reviews for
33
29
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

One night stay to attend an Art Opening at the London Museum. Staff were very friendly and
helpful. Parking was available ( at surcharge) for our 2 vehicles. Room was very nice and beds were extremely comfortable.

Location was great for visiting the Museum and the many bars and restaurants.

Actually I cannot think of anything that warrants negative feedback.

(Just thought may be a tad noisy for some as although I was not particularly bothered but
I did hear coming and going in the middle of the night....this is a University town.)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Meadowbug,
Thank you for choosing us as your accommodations choice while in the city and giving us your feedback.
I hope that you had a great time at the Art Opening you Attended at the London Museum and were able to take advantage of a few of the bars in the area.
We hope to welcome you again soon on your next trip to London.

Sara Donkervoort
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I needed a one night stay for a business trip to London and this hotel exceeded my expectations. I arrived late and there was still a parking spot in the garage-- off to a good start!

The staff were welcoming at check in and answered all my questions in a friendly manner.

The rooms were very clean and we'll maintained. My king size room also included a fridge and microwave. Great chair to work in at the desk and a comfortable chair to relax and watch tv. All the lights and plugs worked, which is not always the case at some hotels.

The Breakfast room was clean and the staff were pleasant. It was the standard Fare and everything was available.

My only complaint might be that he free wifi was spotty at times, but I have become use to that!

Good job London!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Ottawaone,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us.
We aim to make sure every guest has a pleasant stay and to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations, that is just fantastic news for us!
We are currently upgrading our internet system and hope that will speed up all the wireless connections.
We hope that we get the chance to have you stay with us again should you return to the London area.
Sara Donkervoort
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. Staff were very friendly and helpful, room was nicely decorated, very comfortable beds, morning breakfast was great and quiet at night. We will definately stay here again. If you are looking for a great restaurant, where the chef knows his craft and can cook up a deliciously tasting meal, then go to the Jamabalaya restaurant 3 blocks down from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Trudi N,
It was nice to come in today and read your wonderful review about our hotel and staff. I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had an amazing experience at Jambalaya restaurant.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you again at Holiday Inn Express London Downtown.

Sara Donkervoort
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We recently visited this area and stayed in this Holiday Inn location. Previous room had some issues. Front desk representatives did not have any suggestions about local restaurants or recommendations about places to visit. In the same time all coupons were located right on the wall and in the book about the hotel (which we eventually found in the room). Breakfast had limited amount of fruits and if you area late, you missed it. Location is really convenient and it is easy to get around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
hawthornwoods,
When I read this review I was truly shocked to see that the Front Desk Staff did not have any suggestions as to restaurants in the area, for this I am sorry, as they are usually the ones who give lots of suggestions based on a selection of there own favourite restaurants. I have brought your review to the attention of the Guest Service Manager and she has informed me that they have already begun making a Menu Book for the Front Desk Agents to make sure that this does not happen again.
As for the fruit, we have been working on making sure that we have an over abundance as we have noticed that it go quite quickly and we want to make sure all guest have a chance to get a piece.
I am glad that you liked the central location and I hope that when you are back in the city you will give us another try.

Sara Donkervoort
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I made an error with the online reservation (one night off) and Brittany Weiler (Manager) was understanding and friendly. She was able to drop the charges for the night we didn't show up. We stayed the following night. The hotel & location is lovely!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Joanne C,
Yes the location of the hotel is nicely central so you have quick access to an abundance of restaurants and things to do in London. There are other hotels near by as well so thank you for choosing ours.
Sometimes errors are made but I am thrilled that Brittany Weiler was able to help you rectify the situation. Making sure our guests are happy is our number 1 priority.

Sara Donkervoort
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

i recently had to travel to london ontarion on board via rail....and what i loved about this hotel is that you can easily walk from the station to the hotel (lets say about 10 minutes) .Once arrived i was greeted by a very nice front desk person that made me feel super welcomed! I arrived at my room ,it was nice and clean and modern...the furniture is a bit on the big side but its ok...one thing that freaked me out was the slow elevators and one the 2 days i was there one was out of service and the elevator repairman never came back (but that is out of their hands and nothing could be done and its not the hotel's fault but as a reviwer i like to say exactly what happened during my stay). Would i reccomend this hotel? YES!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
torontogirl6910,
Thank you for the great review. I know people now-a-days fill their schedule with things, so for you to take a little bit of time out and write it for us is very appreciated.
It is good to know that from check-in to check-out you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be able to accommodate you again in the future.
Have a fantastic day.

Sara Donkervoort
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown

Address: 374 Dundas St., London, Ontario N6B 1V7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your pleasure, our excellent London accommodations offer you free high-speed wireless Internet access and a complimentary hot breakfast. Our hotel amenities also include a fitness centre & a business centre. We hope you will explore our exceptional London hotel deals and rates as you start planning your trip to London, Ontario today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites London Downtown
Holiday Inn Express London
Holiday Inn London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.