We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hockey tournament stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   374 Dundas St., London, Ontario N6B 1V7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hockey tournament stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in early February for son's hockey tournament. Staff friendly at check in. Parking is not free and very tight underground. Park outside in upper level. Rooms are a bit small but were clean. Breakfast was busy but they tried to keep up with crowds. We stick to the cereal and toast and not the hot items. There is no pool at this location.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Soymoosemom,
Thank you for taking the time to write up a review about your recent stay at our hotel.
I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we could provide you with the service that is expected when you go to hotels.
Not having a pool is definitely a draw back for some but we have worked out something with the YMCA that is directly across the street from us that our guests may use all of their facilities. If we do get the pleasure of accommodating you again please ask the Front Desk about this ammenity.
Thank you again,

Sara Donkervoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    66
    37
    4
    9
See reviews for
36
30
18
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st.johns,nl
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My credit card was charged for a nite stay that didnt happen.Reservation was made and cancelled within 10 minutes but the hotel put charge through anyways.when called the hotel refused to refund and management refused to return calls.I have researched on the internet and it is a common problem.Will not booked with the chain again and will tell all contacts the same

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
jackiewhi,
I would lke to start by thanking you for taking the time to write up a reveiw about our hotel. It is through first hand experiences that we can make our hotel better.
I am not familiar with the exact incident in which you are talking about but it does sound like you booked an advance deposit reservation which is 100%non refundable. all other reservations money is not taken until check out.
If you would like to talk about this further and perhaps give me more information so that i can look into this i can be reached at 519-661-0233
Thank you

Sara Donkervoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I am unable to avail of their facilities as they decided to cancel a reservation made In december 2011 for a stay in mid march 1013 without advising me of this. I called to offer my card for a late arrival and was shocked to find that they had bumped me.
This treatment is unacceptable and their offer of an alternate room in a traditional 'roach motel' was unacceptable too.
I am forced to stay in a location much further from my event as well as at a higher price.
Thank you Holiday Inn Express for giving me one on the jaw.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Emdee1,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience with the hotel.
I am a little taken back that you were able to make a reservation in December of 2011 as our system was not open to book for March 2013 until March 2012 as there is a 364 day limit for reservations.
I understand your frustration with having to locate other accommodations and am happy to hear that you have.
If you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me at 519-661-0233

Sara Donkervoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

WE stayed here for 2 nights at a weekend. Hotel is pretty basic, rooms were clean and comfortable. No complaints. Free breakfast in the morning is OK. Busy and no seats and very little food left when we got down at 9.30. Wasn't expecting much for a free breakfast though. Hotel is central and close to some nice restaurants.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators/ice machine as these are quite noisy all through the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Irish86_12,
Thank you for taking the timeto write up a reveiew abuot your recent stay with us.
I would like to apologize for the lack of food that wa in the Breakfast Bar at 9:30 on a weekend. The breakfast area is open until 10am and should be fully stocked until that time. This is definitely something I will be bringing up with the departmental Manager.
Overall i am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that if you are ever in the London area you will stay with us again.
Thank you again for your review.

Sara Donkervoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I found myself in London for (another) hockey tournament! The team stayed in this hotel as did several other teams in the tournament. It is quite new, so everything was impeccably clean and beds comfortable. The rooms are a touch on the small side, but not a big deal as we were not in the room for long periods of time. Nice to have a fridge and coffee maker in the room. Breakfast served each morning although we did not take advantage of that. Staff was quite accommodating and friendly and although there were several young hockey players staying at the time there was no disruption or noise in the halls - different than many tournaments we've been to before so not sure if that was a function of the building construction or coincidence. Parking underground is rather "tight" so I'd recommend parking upstairs (outside) if you have a large vehicle. Close to restaurants, etc. downtown London...just down from the Armories. No swimming pool / hot tub (which did not matter to us during our stay).

Room Tip: Away from the elevators if possible to avoid the "ping" each time the elevator arrives on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Mia-H68,
Thank you for taking the time to write up a reveiw about your recent stay with us.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and it is fantastic to know that there was no disturbances from the teams.
I hope that if you are ever in the London area again we are your choice for accommodations.
Thank you again and have a great day

Sara Donkervoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canfield Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My hubby and I went to London for his company party, they put us up in the Holiday Inn Downtown. The rooms are clean, have a fridge and coffee maker. The location was excellent, close to the Western Fair Grounds where the horse racing and slots are. Lots of parking, there are some underground spots, but we chose to park out back for very easy access to the door. We really enjoyed the hot continental free breakfast, plenty of food, lots of variety. We found the location very accessible to all the major attractions. While your there check out Palasads, it has it all. Check my review out, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
623brenda,
Thank you for taking the time to write up a review about your recent stay at our hotel.
It is always nice to read positive comments from people.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of some of the things London has to offer.
We look forward to being able to accommodate you again in the future.

Sara Donkervoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Here for a hockey tournament. The location of this hotel is a little scary. It is right downtown and I never realized how bad downtown London is. People from London were like "you're staying where?", so it's a pretty bad neighbourhood, but close to the London Fair rink. The hotel was nice. Front desk staff was friendly and we were provided with a hospitality (meeting)room to cook meals for the team. Housekeeping even cleaned this room for us - there were fresh tablecloths put on each day. The hotel rooms were pretty small, but nice, comfy and very clean. Breakfast was good and was constantly being restocked. Parking is not the best, but you can park underneath which was nice because it was raining. I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraDonkervoort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
momof3hockeyboys,
Thank you for writing a TripAdvisor review up about your recent stay with our hotel.
I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel and would also return.
We look forward to being able to accommodate you again.

Thank you again,
Sara Donkervoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown

Address: 374 Dundas St., London, Ontario N6B 1V7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your pleasure, our excellent London accommodations offer you free high-speed wireless Internet access and a complimentary hot breakfast. Our hotel amenities also include a fitness centre & a business centre. We hope you will explore our exceptional London hotel deals and rates as you start planning your trip to London, Ontario today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites London Downtown
Holiday Inn Express London
Holiday Inn London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.