We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool is the reason” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   591 Wellington Road S, London, Ontario N6C 4R3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Pool is the reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Kids will never want to leave. Get a room facing the skylit atrium and relax. Do yourself a favor and stop at Double Decker Ice Cream just a few steps away and get ice cream from a real London (UK) bus!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you so much for posting this review of the Lamplighter Inn on TripAdvisor! We love that your kids did not want to leave, and also that you were able to relax in your atrium view room – this is why we do what we do! Hopefully you all can return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    128
    47
    20
    10
See reviews for
240
77
21
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Had a quick little getaway with the kids and stayed one night. Had been at the hotel before for weddings but didn't stay the night. Thought the kids would love the pool so came back to stay a night and check it out. we were not disappointed..........the pool is amazing. It was a little warm in the atrium but we were having a heat wave so that was to be expected. The room was nice and staff very friendly. We booked an atrium view room and ended up looking at the back of the mountain (once you've been there you will know what that means)........that was not what we were looking for and those rooms do cost more so next time we will be more specific when booking.

Room Tip: Atrium view rooms on the west end have no view of the pool area, just the back of the water slide. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor! I am so happy to hear that you and your kids were impressed with our pool and that you were satisfied with your room and the friendliness of our staff. We sincerely hope that you will come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed at the hotel in July 2013 for 2 nights in the North wing. We had a 1 king bed, non-atrium view suite. The room was clean and nice. The suite was the first room through the main entrance of this wing.

The bedroom portion can be closed off from the living area with glass French doors. The bedroom faced the parking lot. The drapes were blackout curtains and I kept the drapes closed because it felt like anyone standing in the parking lot could easily just look straight into the room. The bedroom had a TV, lots of lights, drawers and comfortable bed.

The bathroom area has a full bathtub on 1 side, toilet in the middle and separate shower on the other side. The shower has a shampoo, conditioner and bath gel dispenser on the wall and these did not reflect the quality of the rest of the hotel. The first day, the shampoo was empty but housekeeping did rectify this the next day when we advised her. There was no dispenser on the bathtub side and no separate shampoo, conditioner and soap available so unless one was to get out of the tub and get the shampoo, conditioner and bath gel from the shower area, the tub would only be good for soaking in.

Directly across from the bathroom area is the separate sink area on 1 side and open closet on the other. The sink surface area is small and since the coffee and tea maker and condiments are also on this counter space, there is very little space to put your toiletry/cosmetic bag. They certainly could use some shelf space either under the counter or on the sides to put toiletry items on. There was 1 small square bar of soap in this area and it tended to leave a yucky smell on your hands, not immediately but within a short while. Again, it felt like cheap quality bath amenities. The hairdryer was small and not powerful so if you have long hair, I recommend that you bring your own.

In the living area, there was a pull out sofa bed. As with most sofa beds, this was far from comfortable. There is a small bar fridge, table and TV. Since it was right at the doorway to the room, I found it to be noisy to sleep here. The door didn’t provide any soundproofing for the noise in the hallways (people talking and banging room doors). Thank goodness for ear plugs.

Also, the room fan is loud. If you like a quiet room with no noise from the fan, then you won’t be able to get any sleep in this room. Once again, hurray for ear plugs!

The resort’s front lobby is under construction and so the front desk is just a desk in a small narrow space under construction. Nothing much to look at right now.

The atrium and swimming area is spacious. The pool temperature was just right. There is a small hot tub next to the pool and also, the waterslide is up on top, overlooking the pool. The waterslide doesn’t flow into the main pool area. It flows into a separate pool. There were plenty of towels available, some lawn chairs around the pool area and a lovely separate pond area for their koi fish.

I heard that there was a police officer on duty there which I felt was a smart idea done by the hotel. There were a number of groups staying at the hotel and groups can be noisy and rambunctious. My understanding was that the police officer had to reprimand a couple of children but that it was done in as nice a way as possible. Scared the pants off of the children though (who wants to be stopped by the police?) but by having a police offer on duty, it allows the other guests who are not part of a group to enjoy their stay, too.

Overall, a great stay at the Best Western Lamplighter Inn in London. This was our 2nd stay and it’s definitely a great family hotel and is great value.

Room Tip: Pick a room far away from the main entrance door to the wing that you are staying in for a quieter r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you writing this review of the Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn, we welcome all feedback from our guests and are so appreciative that you have taken the time to describe your experience in such detail. I will certainly make sure that your comments regarding our amenities are passed along to and addressed by our housekeeping department. It is wonderful to hear that your overall experience at the hotel was a good one, and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmvale, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Was a good stay was a fun experience was clean and friendly staff nice amenities and pool, check in was a hassle due to wrong booking information. I would definitely stay there again. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and your overall experience here, and we hope that you return in the future! I am sorry to hear that you felt your check-in was a hassle – from the time of booking until check-out we strive to provide a seamless and hassle-free experience and we sincerely apologize if this was something we could have prevented on our end. We hope that we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for about 3 years now for a local function. We always look forward to our over night stay. The pool is amazing (a little cold though) but the atrium makes you feel like you are down south. Shelley's Tap and Grill is very convenient and the food is amazing and very well priced. Service has always been great there too. The hotel will even give you a free appetizer coupon when you check in. The check in staff are always friendly and helpful. Our rooms are always clean and the beds are to die for!!!! So comfortable!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We have always had a room along the back hallways by the stairs at the back and it was very quiet ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review of the Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn! It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests who have stayed with us multiple times and have had consistently enjoyable experiences. Thank you again for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Wonderful stay at the great Hotel. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. AMAZING amenities!!! Swimming pool and area adjacent felt like a resort. Kids had a great time. Can't wait to go there again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We are so happy to hear your family had a wonderful time here at the Lamplighter Inn! We agree that our atrium is very resort like – there are actually 24 different species of palm trees and 220 different species of plants! Thank you so much for the kind review, we can’t wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock Ontario
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My niece held her wedding there and the staff from reception to bar and servers were amazing. Pleasant, professional and helpful they have customer service down to an art. The food was served piping hot and on time. The atrium where the wedding was held was a little too warm but was beautiful. One thing I did notice was the event services manager was on the floor several times during the wedding period and reception making sure all was going according to plan. She also spoke to every table as the meal during the meal to make sure we did not need or want any thing else. Audio and video equipment provided were top notch.

hotel rooms were quiet even with some boisterous folks down the hall and the beds were like heaven - Temperpedic mattresses.
The pool and slide are perfect for a young family outing lifeguards on duty and very clean.

Its a good sized facility that is run with customer satisfaction in mind i would not hesitate to book an event there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this review of the Best Western Lamplighter Inn! We just love it when weddings are held in our atrium, it really is a beautiful spot and so convenient with the guest’s hotel rooms just a few steps away! It is always such a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their experience here, it really makes our day to receive feedback like this. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre

Address: 591 Wellington Road S, London, Ontario N6C 4R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in London
#2 Family Hotel in London
#5 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn is unequivocally the finest Hotel and Conference Centre in Southwestern Ontario. Here you will find a complete spectrum of first class accommodations and Conference, Meeting and Banquet facilities.At the heart, is the spectacular atrium, a multi-tiered oasis of natural beauty under a retractable glass canopy. Be transported to a year round tropical paradise where the sun glistens off the sparkling blue waters of the award winning swimming pool.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre also sets high standards in room appointments, focusing on flexibility and comfort. Choose from Executive Suites, Traditional bedrooms, or romantic retreats with a double Jacuzzi and cozy gas fireplace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn And Conference Centre Hotel London
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre London, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.