We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   591 Wellington Road S, London, Ontario N6C 4R3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in London
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    128
    47
    20
    10
See reviews for
240
77
21
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed at this Inn recently as part of a large group and on several occasions over the past 10 years as part of the same large group on business workshops/meetings. The facilities at this place are great. The bedrooms are large enough and more than adequate. The rooms are cleaned good daily, the beds comfortable for a good nights sleep and plenty of towels. The food is good at the restaurant and sometimes we ate at other restaurants near the Inn. The pool is large and good. The meeting is large enough as well. Will definitely return to this Inn in the future whenever our business group is in London. Will also use this Inn when our family is in the London area in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear CountryPat3

Thank you for posting your comments to Trip Advisor.
I am delighted that you enjoyed the facilities at The Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn. We have many groups, meetings and conferences return year after year, clearly your group is one of them.
We aim to please and our goal is to make sure all of our guests whether they are staying with us for business or please feel as comfortable here as they would at home.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We decided that after the craziness of Christmas, we needed some downtime with our kids. We stayed for 2 nights in a one bedroom suite. Our room overlooked the waterfall and opening our bedroom window made it feel like we were in the tropics.
The room itself was great, and the staff was very helpful in bringing us extra items such as blankets, a pack n' play and even a microwave to warm up bottles.
The kids loved the pool and could have spent the whole day there. We even ate most meals at the hotel restaurant which had reasonably good food. We came away from our mini vacation feeling well rested and now our kids have been begging to come back again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear TravellingReader,

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn. We do our best to make our guests feel as comfortable as they would at home.
Glad you enjoyed our on-site restaurant, Shelly’s . That said, when are you coming back !!!
We hope you visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is designed around an atrium which should be a selling point, but in fact distorts the layout of the hotel so that rooms are tightly fitted into small corridors. Plus you need a compass to find your way between places. Add the fact that the hotel is a popular destination with parents and teams eager to hit the bar while their kids dominate the pool and you have a recipe for disaster if you are looking for a restful stay. A great place for anyone under the age of 50.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear inPhil,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
First of all, let me begin by apologizing that your stay was not pleasant and that our Hotel did not meet your expectations. We do our best to provide amenities to all of our guests, regardless of whether they are travelling for business or pleasure.
To your point that “you need a compass” to find your way between places, any large property is difficult to navigate, however our staff are always around especially during peak check –in periods to help direct new visitors. We always give directions upon check-in with the easiest access for parking. Each guest wing has additional entrances so that you don’t have to walk far.
You are correct in your assumption that the hotel is a popular destination for sports teams and parents; however, we also serve the corporate traveler, hospital stays, weddings and many meeting and conferences.
During all peak periods we have security that patrols the property along with our Duty Managers to monitor the amount of noise and activity, in all areas of the hotel. We do our best to be proactive; however we do also rely on guests to notify us should there be an issue that requires more attention.

Thank you again for your comments. I hope we will be given the opportunity to show you in the future that we can deliver an excellent experience for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We sometimes visit this hotel for a weekend getaway, or for a hockey tournament stayover, or when seeing a show or something in London with the kids. The service at this hotel is excellent. Check in and check out is friednly and efficient. Onsite restaurant has good food and good service as well. The indoor pool and wterslide facility is great for keeping the kids busy. The hotel has newer wings and older wings/building to it, but nonetheless we've only ever had one room issue where noise from a nearby stairwell and the AC unit was an issue... service manager was at our room in minutes and had us arranged to a new room with no prompting by me... now that's great service! Hotel is nicely located near London downtown, attractions, restaurants, malls, etc all less than 15 minutes away.

Room Tip: Try and get rooms in the newer wings of the buildings, or atrium rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear JJLD,
Thank you for posting your comments to Trip Advisor.
I am glad to hear that you visited The Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn several times and found the level of service excellent. It's really satisfying to know our efforts are felt by our guests. We strive to ensure all of our guests feel welcome and as comfortable as they would at home.
Both the young and the young at heart enjoy the indoor pool and waterslide, along with all the other amenities. Our Atrium is like a tropical oasis, despite the weather outside. I am glad you enjoyed Shelly’s our on-site restaurant.
Thank you for once again choosing the Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have stayed here twice over the last few months and both stays were great. Check in is very friendly and efficient. The pool is a tropical blessing in the winter months and the waterslide is lots of fun and not too scary. Rooms are spacious and well maintained. We have had a room over the pool both times and never had an issue with noise. Once you close your sliding doors you don't hear the pool. This is true for the 2nd and 3rd floors - not sure about the ground floor. The on Site restaurant is very good and they have a family meal package on the weekends that is a great price for what you get. If you are staying for a hospital stay/visit ask about their medical rate. They also have a free shuttle Mon-Fri to the hospitals in the city - even University which is across town. Was very handy for us and just really like this place!

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floors would be my choice. Get an atrium room. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear RQH123,

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.
I am glad to hear that you have visited us a couple of times over the last few months and found both times you had a great experience. We, at The Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn do our very best to make all of our guests feel welcome and as comfortable as they would feel at home.
You mentioned you stayed in one of our Atrium rooms. They are very popular! Opening your patio doors to the large indoor pool, waterslide, hot tub, Gazebo bar and koi pond is like being in a tropical oasis in the middle of winter.
I am glad you and your family enjoyed Shelly’s, our on-site restaurant. The family meal package is a huge hit with many of our customers and guests.
We understand that hospital stays or visits can be very stressful and expensive. Our shuttle to and from hospitals is a very popular bonus for many of our guests. I am glad to hear you took advantage of this service.
We look forward to welcoming you again and once again thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Lovely hotel with an amazing pool that the kids couldn't get enough of! Only down points were pillows were so hard there was no way we could sleep, wifi wouldn't work and housekeeping moved clock an hour ahead for time change without telling us - so we ended up rushing when we didn't need to. Had choice of parking lot or atrium room glad we chose parking lot but can definately see advantage of pool side rooms if we had older kids. If you are heading to this hotel BRING YOUR OWN PILLOWS!

Room Tip: If you have kids that can swim without u being in the pool chose a atrium room but if you want a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Lisa652
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted you and your family enjoyed our Atrium. Both the young and the young at heart enjoy the pool, hot tub, waterslide and the tropical feel that is exclusive to our property in London Ontario.
We certainly understand that pillows are a very personal thing and we have found that many of our guests love our pillows to the point of purchasing them, or hate them. We apologize for your lack of sleep, however, had you notified the Front desk we would have supplied you with our tempurpedic or feather pillows. We want you to feel as comfortable here as you would at home and will go the extra mile for you to do so.
I will certainly check into the issue with the WIFI connection. As far the “Spring Ahead” on your clock I apologize. I will pass along your comments to housekeeping.

Once again, thank you for your comments and hope we see you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre

Address: 591 Wellington Road S, London, Ontario N6C 4R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in London
#2 Family Hotel in London
#5 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn is unequivocally the finest Hotel and Conference Centre in Southwestern Ontario. Here you will find a complete spectrum of first class accommodations and Conference, Meeting and Banquet facilities.At the heart, is the spectacular atrium, a multi-tiered oasis of natural beauty under a retractable glass canopy. Be transported to a year round tropical paradise where the sun glistens off the sparkling blue waters of the award winning swimming pool.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre also sets high standards in room appointments, focusing on flexibility and comfort. Choose from Executive Suites, Traditional bedrooms, or romantic retreats with a double Jacuzzi and cozy gas fireplace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn And Conference Centre Hotel London
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre London, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.