We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   591 Wellington Road S, London, Ontario N6C 4R3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in London
Medicine Hat
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Hotel is decent, rooms were large and clean but noisy and hard to control temp. I stayed for 3 nights and sleep poor each night. Pillows and bedding were clean but of poor quality. The heater was so loud that I had to adjust the tv volume as it went on and off. Won't book there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear DDT414,

Thank you for placing your review on Trip Advisor.
Let me start off first by apologizing for the noisy thermostat. Each room has its own thermostat for self-control; however your thermostat seems to have been “out of control”. I’m not sure if the front desk was made aware of the situation or not. When we are made aware of a situation such as this, our Maintenance Department will attempt to fix the problem. If the problem cannot be fixed to your satisfaction we would move you to another room in the hotel. We certainly understand that pillows are a very personal thing and we have found that many of our guests love our pillows to the point of purchasing them, or hate them. For this reason we have tempurpedic and feather pillows available through the front desk for those who want a flatter pillow.
Thank you again for your comments and we sincerely hope we will be given an opportunity to show you in the future that we can provide you with an excellent experience and a good night’s sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    110
    44
    17
    9
See reviews for
197
72
20
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights as part of a family group. My in-laws wanted to take the family away for a few nights somewhere the kids would enjoy. After discussing possibilities close to us here in Windsor, On we decided on the Lamplighter Inn. The hotel was wonderful about getting us3 rooms side by side, with doors directly onto the atrium. The kids loved the hotel, especially my 9yr old boy who went on the water-slide 36 times by his count. The only down side we had was that our first night, trying to sleep was miserable. In the morning one of our party asked hotel staff about why our rooms were so warm and could not be cooled off. It seems the climate control is shut off at this time of year to the wing of the hotel we were in. The staff was very apologetic about this and immediately moved us to new rooms. We were given an upgrade to mini-suites that still had a patio door to the atrium. We had no noise problems what so ever. Not even with my sister in-law's family playing loud music and partying next door! Our second night we slept well in cool, comfortable beds. We found the staff friendly and attentive. A great stay for sure!

Room Tip: Atrium rooms are wonderful and the convenience of having a patio door onto the atrium cannot be beat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed just last night. Staff was very friendly and cared that I was a guest. I agree with some previous reviews. The hotel is busy. This is a popular choice for families and sports teams. The pool was open until 11 pm on Sat. night and opened at 8 am Sunday morning and it is busy. We stayed on the third floor overlooking the pool. We went with our children and they loved the view. For us, traveling with kids, the pool hours were amazing going till 11 pm and and 8 am start on Sunday. The water slide hours were very good as well (mostly open). The pool was clean and well monitored. The pool area is beautiful. The water slide is very unique and amazing. The pool water was warm and shallow in many parts for kids and easy to stand. Although busy, there was room enough for everyone and the water slide line up was never more then a few minutes. Beach balls in the pool area, a fish pond in the atrium. Tonnes of towels and lots of chairs. Room was very clean. Separate shower and tub. Sink outside of the bathroom is very convenient. Shelly's restaurant onsite was busy but servers and the manager were working hard. Food was very good. Price of meals for adults $10.99-$12.99 more for steaks. Kids meals $4.99. Excellent hours and all day breakfast menu options offered. No need to eat out as the hotel doesn't over price their food. Nice TV, clean, nice beds. Will go back for sure. Notes, it is true that if you want a quiet room because you are adult travelers who want a quiet night or if you have small kids with early bed time hours don't stay facing the pool. There were people in the pool until close 11 pm. The steps going down the pool are a little slippery...they have caution signs so walk slow. We did hear some noise at 1:30 am. Security must have acted quickly as the noise was quickly stopped. Our kids said it was one of their favorite hotels and felt like they were in a tropical paradise. One of the best for sure!!

Room Tip: Views facing the pool on the second or third floors are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to hear your family had a great time enjoying everything The Best Western Plus, Lamplighter Inn has to offer. We want you to feel as comfortable here as you would at home and will go the extra mile for you to do so.


Thanks again for your review. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Nice rooms. Polite staff.
But there will be screaming kids in all the hallways because there is a giant pool.
If you want any kind of quiet you'd be better sleeping on the shoulder of the highway.
This is where parents bring there kids and let them run wild in the hallways.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear John,
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.We are pleased that you appreciated our rooms and staff.
We apologize for your poor nights sleep. There is nothing worse than not feeling rested in the morning. I’m sure if the Front Desk was made aware of your concerns they would have made a point that everyone staying at the hotel enjoyed their stay and was able to get a good nights sleep even if we had to move you to another room.
Thanks again for your review. We hope next time you are in London, you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Lamplighter Best Western is one of the most popular motels in London, Ontario. Their Atrium pool with rooms facing it (with poolside balcony) is a big attraction.

At our family's request we booked it for two days including "boxing day". After numerous problems with Expedia.ca (promised us the wrong room) we arrived and were greeted by the very efficient and friendly staff.

The pool was wonderful, well attended, and the only problem was that at busy times there were not enough chairs for those who were watching or taking a break from the swimming. We did not use the magnificent water slide as the hight restriction was forty eight inches which our grandson did not meet.

Our room was large and the decor modern with dark wood and beige walls. The bath area include both a shower and a tub which is unusual with the sink outside and spacious. A separate computer desk and another with a large screen TV made it very comfortable.

Some negatives were that we only had "paper" cups for both the sink and coffee machines (very cheap BW ??), The rooms / halls were very noisy as the corridors were brick and you could hear every door closing, people talking, etc., in your room. It was very quiet after 11pm and sleep was not a problem. We did not face the pool and I am not sure if this would be an advantage due to the noise factor and pool hours. It was very busy with many parents and children participating.

Breakfast in their restaurant was reasonably priced and quite good. Our supper there was not the best and the rib "special" came with a salad in a "soup bowl" (no choice of dressing) and too many fries. The turkey supper came with the same salad and was not that appetizing.

The pool was great but not sure we will go back as it cost us $40 per night more and did not include the free healthy breakfast that our normal "quiet" hotel costs.

The location is central and on a very busy street. Not sure about local transportation but their is really no where close that you can go without a car??

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool seem to be the most popular? Not sure about the noise factor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre

Address: 591 Wellington Road S, London, Ontario N6C 4R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#3 Romantic Hotel in London
#4 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn is unequivocally the finest Hotel and Conference Centre in Southwestern Ontario. Here you will find a complete spectrum of first class accommodations and Conference, Meeting and Banquet facilities.At the heart, is the spectacular atrium, a multi-tiered oasis of natural beauty under a retractable glass canopy. Be transported to a year round tropical paradise where the sun glistens off the sparkling blue waters of the award winning swimming pool.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre also sets high standards in room appointments, focusing on flexibility and comfort. Choose from Executive Suites, Traditional bedrooms, or romantic retreats with a double Jacuzzi and cozy gas fireplace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn And Conference Centre Hotel London
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre London, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.