We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kantina Restaurant

Kantina Restaurant
349 Talbot Street, London, Ontario N6A 2R5, Canada
5196725862
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 858 restaurants in London
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was our first visit to Kantina and what a wonderful surprise. My wife and I ate supper along with a couple of friends. The atmosphere is very cool and laid back.
We both had the Serbian Salad to start and it is great, very light and refreshing. For mains, we each had Chicken Ravioli (apparently new to the menu) and it was simply delicious and not at all heavy. Our friends had the Tiger Shrimp and they were huge, server on a bed of risotto. For desert I had the Rice Pudding which is served cold with scoop of apricot sherbet in the middle, surrounded by rum soaked raisins and underneath was a dollop of fig. Wonderful!
I cannot believe we have not eaten at this restaurant before given how great the food is here. Will definitely put this on our list of regular restaurant visits from now on. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    45
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding Meal and top-notch service = new fav!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I recently had the opportunity to dine here and it was a wonderful experience. The food quality was superb and the atmosphere was great...very different from other London restaurants - in a good way! Entree was the homemade duck sausage, followed by a chocolate lava cake with bacon maple ice cream...mmm...bacon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Reserve Early, This Small Place is a Winner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Finally, someone dares to be different in London, Ontario and the result is excellent food that makes your palate dance! I had the smoked salmon in cucumber as an appetizer, my husband had the fish chowder, both were delicious with complementary flavours. Black George was my main dish and it was scrumptious. Duck sausage, while not presented all that nicely, was equally delicious (slice up the sausage on the plate and add more colour to the plate, will be perfect then). Molten lava cake for dessert was pure chocolate heaven! Wine list needs work but there is something for everyone. Service was really nice, efficient, and polite without being intrusive. Atmosphere is cozy and a little noisy at times, has a great urban buzz to it. Total price for dinner, with two starters, two mains, two glasses of wine and one dessert was $98 plus tip. We will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

If you a looking for a cozy place with ridiculously good food this is the place. The food and service is always excellent. The menu is not huge but it doesn't need to be because every single selection from starter to dessert is a winner. If you are not ordering wine you can get out for around $100 per couple for a 3 course meal all in. The wines are worth the extra cost.

Very highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food, good ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Lives up to its reviews. An interesting menu well prepared and served hot. The service was friendly and attentive, but not intrusive. Try the polenta for app and duck sausage. We will be back

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kantina Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kantina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kantina Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.