We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food in Leamington if you're looking for something 'better'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gallery Restaurant

Gallery Restaurant
11 Queens Ave, Leamington, Ontario N8H 3G5, Canada
+1 519-322-2399
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 79 Restaurants in Leamington
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a family operation specialized in Portuguese home made cuisine, we do have Mediterranean dishes and some American also. All our desserts are home made. We do have facilities for meetings an group functions of up to 80 people. We do have an outdoor patio and bar with a Mediterranean theme and feeling. Our food is cooked to order. The Portuguese part of the menu is based on national and regional dishes and are as authentic as possible taking into account the availability of some of the products in our area.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Excellent food in Leamington if you're looking for something 'better'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Nothing against Leamington, but there aren't a ton of dining options. However, we were lucky enough to stumble upon The Gallery. Great atmosphere, super friendly (but not annoying) staff, and delicious food. We followed the advice of other reviewers and stuck to the Portuguese options on the menu, but there is something for everyone. Excellent fish-based mains, and a solid wine list. Desserts out of this world! And well priced making it a strong value. Definitely worth a visit if you're looking for something other than pub food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Western, Ontario
1 review
“Fantastic portugese food... meh otherwise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Had the seafood linguine, pork and potato something something and squid supper... all were 5/5 and utterly fabulous. Great portugese wine tah boot. That being said, one of the party ordered the perch (its winter mind) and it was mostly meh. Fantastic portugese food, stick to that part of the menu and you will be utterly satisfied.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An excellent experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have visited this restaurant 3 times over the past few years and so does our daughter who lives in Leamington.
The place never seems to be full, maybe that's just a coincidence; in any case it is a nice looking restaurant, good, warm atmosphere on the luxurious side.
The food is excellent and service very pleasant.
Maybe a touch too many Portuguese specialties, not sure too many people in that area would be very enthusiastic about that but other dishes were delicious.
I had veal medallions in brandy sauce, daughter had chicken parmigiana, husband had sirloin steak, all very tasty and the chocolate mousse for dessert was finger licking good.
Good wine choices with enough availability of wine by the glass.
We definitely recommend it if you're looking for something better than the usual Americana restaurants.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Looking forward to next time....loved it !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were a bit early for the dinner hour, but were graciously accommodated for an early seating.
The decor offers a really nice setting with great ambience (loved the background music). Menu with a variety of options - three of us tried the liver and onions (with bacon) - we all felt it was one of the best liver dinners we had experienced, the other person tried a Mediterranean burger and thoroughly enjoyed that as well. A great soup of the day - roasted red pepper. And to end the meal, coconut cream pie (I've tried c.c.pie many places - this was the BEST !). Service was friendly - we'll be back again.....

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A bit of Serendipity in Leamington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Taking a wrong turn as I left Leamington brought me to the Gallery and an excellent meal. I was on my way out of town when I saw the building housing the Gallery, an old Church. I saw that it was open and as it was 7:30 I was hungry so I stopped. Walking in I was impressed with the decor but surprised to see no one eating. The owner came to greet me and assured me that they were open. For my entire meal experience I was the only one in the restaurant. As you might imagine the service was prompt and the food came quickly. I had Rapini soup which I enjoyed even though I didn't know what Rapini was. I ordered the Moroccan Kebabs which were 6 good size pieces of pork on a stick with cherry tomatoes on a bed of rice. On the side was fresh cooked vegetables such as sugar peas and squash. All in all a very good meal resulting from a wrong turn - a bit or Serendipity.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallery Restaurant also viewed

Leamington, Ontario
Leamington, Ontario
 
Leamington, Ontario
 

Been to Gallery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gallery Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.