We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Point Pelee National Park

Point Pelee National Park
407 Monarch Lane | RR 1, Leamington, Ontario N8H 3V4, Canada
519-322-2365
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Leamington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1918, this small yet popular park is home to a variety of trees and birds.
Naples Florida
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Interesting spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Weather was so-so, but still quite a few people there. The shuttle had to make two trips to accommodate everyone. Beautiful point of land, mostly birders/butterfly people...we saw 8 Monarchs.
Southernmost point on Canada's mainland

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    65
    12
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“bicycles, seagulls butterflies and turkeys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We rented bikes as a family on site and rode through the park. My son chased thousands of seagulls into the air along one of the long stretch of beaches, which was the highlight for him. Butterflies everywhere and it wasn't even migration season. And we saw 5 wild turkeys - how cool is that?! The walk to the point from the end of the park road is worth it. A couple of us took a swim in the calm cool water we found there.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“A Natural Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Once through the National Park entrance you're in a world of lush, green vegetation, almost endless and pristine sand beaches, extensive wetlands (one with an elevated boardwalkl), and "The Tip", a narrow sandspit that juts far into Lake Erie and forms the most southerly point of mainland Canada!

In early September, on a weekday, we visited this amazing natural area for the first time. The day was sunny, clear and hot (about 30C) so we spent much of our day strolling the wonderful beaches, (e.g. Black Willow, Northwest) deserted except for a few sea gulls, along the west edge of the park, waded into the 2-foot high waves that chrashed onto the shore, and enjoyed the view of the sparkling, blue waters of the lake.

Caught the free Shuttle at the Visitor Center for a magical 10-minute ride through dense broadleaf forest to near The Tip, then walked a short distance parallel to the east shore until we emerged out of the woods and saw the ever-narrowing sandy spit that came to a point not far ahead. Several people were there ahead of us exploring the final junction point of land and water. My wife and I walked out to the very end where the last stretch of sand ended and waves from the west side of the spit met the calm waters of the east.

On our way north toward the entrance we stopped at the Marsh Boardwalk, where we climbed the 60-foot tall observation tower for a fantastic view of the vast wetlands. A walk through part of the marsh on the elevated, boardwalk gave us close-up views of the lush reeds and cattails crowding in on both sides.

I'd highly recommend a visit to this national treasure for anyone interested in seeing nature at its best.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The park is extremely well maintained. It is very visitor friendly with lots of trails and ample parking. Every member of the park staff we talked with was knowledgeable and friendly. We're already planning our next visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love the park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

In spring you'll find an older crowd and mainly birders. In summer it's families and picnickers. Autumn fairly quiet and mainly birders again. Always something to see.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Pelee National Park also viewed

Tobermory, Bruce County
Leamington, Ontario
 

Been to Point Pelee National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Pelee National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.