We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary couple” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duck Pond Bed and Breakfast Cottage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Duck Pond Bed and Breakfast Cottage to your Saves list
Duck Pond Bed and Breakfast Cottage
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   901 Mersea Road 7 | Ontario, Leamington, Ontario N8H 3V8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3nights,2people,$349
Ranked #1 of 12 Leamington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary couple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

If ou are visiting the Point Pelee area you won;t do better than the DuckPond for a place to stay. Excellent accomodation, great food, nice people and easy travel to most places in the area that you might want to see. We would highly reccomend the DuckPond.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
54
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

After touring some area wineries, my wife and I arrived at Duckpond B & B around 4:30. It’s very easy to find. We went to the main house where Marjolein met us. She gave us a tour of the guest house where we’d be staying and offered dinner suggestions and recommended a few walking trails for a morning hike.

GUEST HOUSE
The guest house is separate from the owner’s house - separated by the driveway. There’s you’re your own private patio with chairs and a table to sit and enjoy the scenery. The back yard is well landscaped and there’s plenty of privacy. Several bird feeders are put up in the yard as well, so lots of birds to see.

KITCHEN
Full size fridge, toaster, microwave, coffee maker, brita water filter for the tap, double burner for cooking, utensils, all necessary dishware and a barbecue outside. Lots of cupboard and counter space, and there’s also a table with 4 chairs to sit at.

BATHROOM
Clean and bright with plenty of towels and other toiletries.

BEDROOM
Again, bright and spacious. A nice large window to let the light in. Bed was comfortable and there’s an alarm clock and TV as well.

SITTING AREA
Two love seats and a coffee table with a TV and movies (DVD’s) available. There are some board games, books and cards for things to do as well.

BREAKFAST
This isn’t your traditional B & B, and we loved that about it. Marjolein made us omelettes, amazing fruit salad as well as some baked goods before we arrived and put them in the fridge. In addition, there were three different jams, butter, milk, juice and two kinds of bread for toasting. You can wake up, make your coffee and eat whenever you want, whereas a lot of other B & B’s say “breakfast is at this time”. We really enjoyed this aspect.

OVERALL
All in all, it was a very nice and comfortable stay here. We really enjoyed this different approach to a B & B. You don’t have to worry about waking others in the house or, more important, how late breakfast is going to be served. The owner is readily available for questions and recommendations about the area. She even made some maps for us. They also have WiFi - always good to have WiFi.

It’s maybe a five minute drive (max) to the town of Leamington, so there are plenty of things to see/do in and around the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the quaint cottage style. Nice quiet setting out in the country with beautiful, comfortable bed and linens made a superb sleep. We loved being able to cook in the kitchen and also enjoyed the breakfast and snacks provided by our gracious host. We stayed at the B & B for the birding in Point Pelee and we didn't have to go far to see the birds because we had a bird's nest of Robin's eggs just outside our cottage door.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Duck Pond B&B and have nothing but raves It is a perfect getaway close to Pt Pelee and Leamington A lovely private cottage in a rural setting that was both spacious and super clean. It has a separate bedroom with a very comfortable bed fitted with superior linens. The breakfasts were outstanding and an unexpected afternoon treat of home baking both days was an added bonus to have with our cup of tea We most definitely will be back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordwolde Gr, Nederland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent three nights here and it was simply great. It's a detached cottage, so lots of privacy and no noisy neighbours. The rooms are spacious and pleasantly furnished, the kitchen big enough to cook a decent supper if you wish. Breakfast is very conveniently provided the night before. The food is really special: everything, including the bread, is fresh and homemade an there was something new every day. As a bonus we had a piece of homemade pie or cake each day. The distance to Point Pelee is convenient, maybe a half hour drive to the visitors centre. In the house there's lots of info about wat to do and what to see. So the Duck Pond really left nothing to be desired.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

A girls' trip to Leamington to visit Point Pelee along with wine tours and a few rounds of golf was greatly enhanced by a wonderful bed and breakfast. The Duck Pond is actually an entirely private cottage within 15 minutes of all these activities. Separate bedroom, large bath, fully stocked kitchen and living room, along with a bbq and patio overlooking the family of ducks and geese. And, not to be missed, Marjolein's fabulous breakfasts and fresh baked afternoon snacks. We could not have asked for more. Such a lovely and welcoming couple in a peaceful country environment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

What a wonderful place to spend a few days and visit Point Pelee and not to forget enjoying golf and visiting vineyards. Your Duck Pond Bed and Breakfast is a wonderful place with all commodities. It is bright, spacious and clean. The breakfast were delicious as well as the afternoon tea breaks. Thank you Marjolein and Aad for creating this wonderful B&B.
Céline-Ottawa

Room Tip: If you need to drive to Point Pelee then this B&B is perfect....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Duck Pond Bed and Breakfast Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck Pond Bed and Breakfast Cottage

Address: 901 Mersea Road 7 | Ontario, Leamington, Ontario N8H 3V8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Leamington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Leamington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Duck Pond Bed and Breakfast Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our country setting allows guests a relaxing stay. The Cottage is surrounded by farmers' fields, with a view of the duck pond from your private patio. We are famous for our lavish breakfasts, self catered, to be enjoyed at your leisure in the privacy of our guesthouse.We offer free internet access and free phone calls in North America and to Western Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Duck Pond Bed and Breakfast Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duck Pond Bed And Breakfast Cottage Leamington, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duck Pond Bed and Breakfast Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.