We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, great view, friendly staff - Recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seacliffe Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Seacliffe Inn to your Saves list
Seacliffe Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   388 Erie Street South, Leamington, Ontario N8H 3E5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Leamington B&B and Inns
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, great view, friendly staff - Recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Seacliffe Inn and LOVED it. We stayed on the top floor with a gorgeous view of Lake Erie. The room was neat as a pin and beautifully decorated with comfortable amenities, and the fireplace was a cozy bonus! The stairs were not an issue at all. It is a charming building. The staff was very friendly and happy to help us with local attractions. We enjoyed our stay very much, and we will definitely return. This is our new favorite escape!

Room Tip: The top floor has a great view. Don't be afraid of the stairs! I was before we arrived, but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    25
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
8
28
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
268 hotel reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here a for a few random nights in November, in rooms 207 (Double Queen), 209 (Queen), and 205 (Suite). Room 209 was the nicest for a business traveller, such as myself. Overall, the experience was pleasant, and I would return if given the chance. Below are a few points.

I'm not sure if it's because I was there during the off-season, but I found it very difficult to reach anyone at the hotel during business hours. This improved slightly with time (over a week). I would suggest if anyone needs to reach someone at this hotel, to try reservations first, and then the extension for the bar downstairs, where employees and the owner can sometimes be found. Also, be sure to contact someone at the hotel if you are planning to check in late. Twice I had made a reservation through Expedia, to find that the hotel had no record of my pending arrival (I did make the reservations last minute, to be fair). No one is at the front desk late at night, so arrange a time before hand, or you might not be able to get in.

Staff here are cordial, and the owner is friendly and generous (to the point of inviting me for a drink at the bar downstairs). I had to cancel one night past their cancellation policy, and had made a few last minute reservations, and they were always accommodating. There is no breakfast offered, nor did I eat at the pub (in which the kitchen was closed at 5pm... odd).

The hotel suffers from apparently thin walls and a loud central air system that emitted strange noises from the floor grilles, so much so that earplugs are offered complimentary in the rooms (which is a nice gesture). Rooms 209 had this, but room 205 seemed to be the worst, and had a lot of strange noises that made sleep difficult. The rooms themselves are very, very nice, with hand-crafted beautiful wood furniture and thick, new carpet. Each room has a gas fireplace (although the fireplace in the suite did not work during my stay). The suite is not really a suite by definition, it's just a larger room with a space where there should be a kitchen. The bathroom is no larger, but there is a sitting area. I would suggest room 209 as the nicest in the hotel; it is cozy and warm - a room you want to spend time in. All rooms I stayed in had a decent view of the lake and the ferry docks.

The building itself appears new and in good repair, but is almost too sterile. An old establishment like this could use a bit more character, and a common area on the first floor would be nice (apart from the bar). There is no elevator to the upper floors. The WiFi was worked consistently well. Again, overall a nice experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Apart from its location, this over-priced hotel has little going for it. Room facilities were the sparsest we have ever encountered during 5 weeks in Canada (not even a coffee maker). Furnishings were OK and if you need it, the gas fie might be attractive. One bedside table and light (there was plenty of space for one the other side of the bed) "Breakfast" consisted of an unstaffed station offering coffee, hot water (but only herbal teabags), plastic containers of tinned fruit and Rice Krispy bars.
The room literature asks that any issues are taken up before posting a negative comment on tripadvisor but as there are no staff (apart, we think, from a couple of 2 hours slots 3pm to 5pm, 7am to 9am) and the co-located bar denies any associatiion with the hotel, this is difficult.

Room Tip: Cheaper options in Leamington unless a lake view is essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

On my first time visiting Leamington, I stayed with my wife and two daughters at the Seacliffe Inn mostly for its convenient location near Point Pelee National Park. Our room was clean and comfortable, and had a beautiful view of the harbor and Lake Erie. The front desk clerk, Stephanie, was amazingly helpful and pleasant, giving us advice on things to do and where to eat. The hotel has a nice old-time maritime feel with lots of atmosphere. The surrounding neighborhood is very nice and a great place to walk around. Parking is convenient in the large on-site lot. I will definitely stay here on my next visit to the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Over price rooms and loud from bar below. Good food but over priced and takes forever. Owners are jerks. When we inquired about the rate not matching our quote we were led to the drunken owner at the bar below who was rude and unaccommodating. The rooms were not worth the price. We will not return to this place despite it's good location. Avoid this place.

Room Tip: Do not go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Checked into the Seacliffe Inn this past saturday and was welcomed into the hotel by friendly staff. The Location of the Inn couldn't be better if you want to have a relaxing place to stay in the Point Pelee Leamington community. The Inn was about a 5 minute walk to a beautiful beach and also the Ferry to the Pelee Island. The room we got was on a higher floor so we didn't hear to much noise from the Restaurant/Pub that was attached to the Inn. The room was clean and had all the comforts you would expect from a small town Inn. This is not the W so the room was not modern and didn't have fancy things but It was CLEAN and comfortable. The Tv was a flat 32" LG Flat screen and had varied channels. I would recommend this hotel for city people who just need to get away and relax. its close to everything around the town within a 10 minute walk to an LCBO, Metro, and Walmart. there are a few restaurants as well around it. Pelee National Park was about a 10 minute drive and worth the drive. We will be back here soon.

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper get a room on the 3rd Floor ( highest you can go) to minimize the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our family friends and us got 3 "sea facing" rooms at this hotel over the Canada Day long weekend. I was slightly hesitant while booking after reading some not-so-favourable reviews on TripAdvisor. Luckily, we were quite surprised to find nothing really wrong with the rooms or the staff. All three rooms were rather spacious with two comfortable queen beds. They even had free WiFi access that worked pretty well. Bathrooms were basic, but clean with lots of fresh towels.

Seacliffe is the ideal place to stay if anyone is thinking of taking the ferry across to Peele Island. If you don't want to take your car across, you can simply walk to the ferry. Point Pelee National Park is also about a 10-15 min drive, following a single straight road from the hotel.

All in all, our entire group enjoyed our stay at Seacliffe. This is a perfectly basic, but equally comfortable spot to crash if you are looking to explore Leamington and its surroundings.

Room Tip: If the "sea facing" rooms cost extra, don't bother going for them. There isn't muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seacliffe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacliffe Inn

Address: 388 Erie Street South, Leamington, Ontario N8H 3E5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Leamington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Leamington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Seacliffe Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Leamington on the shores of Lake Erie at the ferry crossing to Pelee Island, few miles from Pt Pelee National Park. Nautical decor, restaurnat & lounge on site with patio overlooking Lake Erie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seacliffe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacliffe Hotel Leamington
Seacliffe Inn Leamington, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seacliffe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.