We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marlborough House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Marlborough House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Marlborough House Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   49 Marlborough St. West, Leamington, Ontario N8H 1V9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Leamington B&B and Inns
Livonia, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My Husband and I had a great time at the Marlborough House July 21-22, 2012. Over the past few years we have been to dozens of B& B's so we've become quit picky to what we are looking for: The Marlborough House had most everything we look for in a B & B. The look of the house was beautiful. I t had many antiques and was decorated in a wonderful classic victorian feel. The Bedroom was small but comfortable there was a flatscreen TV in room with DVD and cable.
This is the first B& B we have stayed at with an attached bath but we didn't mind. (The House offers three rooms all with private baths they are just not attached to your bedroom.) The walk was just at the end of the short hall, and our bathroom was newly renovated with a modern claw-foot bathtub in it.
The innkeepers were nice as can be and extremely accommodating! There is a fridge available in the Dining room filled with soda and an assortment of juices for no charge.
The breakfast was plentiful and delicious, they served us Rice pudding, an assortment of fruit and berries, french toast with fruit, sausage and hard boiled eggs.
An added bonus was a beautiful outdoor pool! This is a rare feature for a B & B! so if you stay in the summer months bring your suit!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
69
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were at the southern tip of the province of Ontario on a mission to find a lavender festival; and at the same time to sample a few glasses of locally-made wine on a winery tour. We booked the B&B ahead of time as home base. On arrival the afternoon sun was blistering hot, but once inside the door at the B&B it was cool and relaxing. We instantly felt at home, although it was obvious we had walked into another family's home and in some ways back in time a century or two. The owners, Amy and Troy, were very sweet. They couldn't do enough. I had a question about where to eat in the Leamington area, previously known mostly for tomatoes and Heinz ketchup, and they produced a huge binder with all the current and best places - personally rated, with copies of all the menus. The room and the bed at the B&B were very comfortable. The linens and towels felt elegant, fresh and new. Despite the frilly old-time decor, the room was equipped with modern electronics. The bathroom down the hall was ours alone, and very nicely appointed. There was lots of attention to detail throughout the place. The location of the B&B was central, although not near anything too interesting on foot. There was a bit of debris from a messy neighbour across the back lane which created an unfortunate eyesore to be seen when parking at the back of the house, so that was the only drawback but it did not affect our enjoyment of the B&B itself. We used the front door and ignored it. In the morning, the breakfast was friendly, generous and tasty. I would recommend this B&B to anyone staying in the area, and I would recommend the area itself to anyone looking for a new short holiday experience not too far from the Toronto-Montreal corridor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Amy and Troy run this B&B in a gorgeous well-decorated century home in Leamington, very close to Point Pelee. My husband and I stayed for two nights, in order to spend a full day at the point. We loved our stay here, from: being greeted by name on our arrival, to the comfortable bed in our beautiful room, to the free soft drinks and water, (our own compartment in the fridge), to the beautiful and very filling breakfasts that Amy makes, to how happy they are to share their knowledge of the area, they do everything wonderfully to make their guests very happy!

Room Tip: We saw all three rooms, and all are just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This must be one of the best B&B's in Ontario! We were greeted warmly and our hosts Amy and Troy were always sensitive to our needs throughout our stay. After a long day on the road, to finally arriveand enjoy the private pool was very welcome! The bedroom was sumptous with the most attentive furnishings you might imagine, focusing on the period decor of the hime wonderfully. As we were there midweek we had pretty much exclusive use of the exceptionally decorated siting room and lounge on the main floor for the late evenings. It was quite nice indeed to sit in the period setting on the couch while browsing the web discretely using their wireless service on our digital devices.
After a soft and peaceful sleep, followed by the quite refreshing modern bath, the home made breakfast was just incredible. Artfully created breakfasts welcomed us each morning and the leftover baked goods (yummy blueberry bread the first day and then cocolate chip banana bread the next) were unexpectedly bagged for us when we were leaving for our outings each morning! We'd come again without a seconds hesitation.

Room Tip: If you want a spacious bed and similar bathroom choose the largest room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Ontario
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Marlborough house is one of the nicest, most comfortable and friendly BnB we have enjoyed anywhere if Canada. Hosts Amy, and Troy (sometimes called by Amy as "Tray"!) are two generous people who offer their guests comfort and more. Marlborough House as a beautifully maintained, original grand home in Leamington. Impeccably clean and tastefully decorated, one is at home immediately.

Breakfasts are more than substantial and creatively prepared and presented with Amy's home baking a tasty feature. These breakfasts will keep one going all day if a "walk out on Point Pelee" for birding, or a drive around the region is your plan.

Others call it pampering. It is, but to us, it was more great hospitality, form the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Amy's "Care Package for the road" of bottled water and some of her fantastic baking carrot bread proves the point!

There are others in the region, but Amy and Troy's Marlborough House BnB is a must for us.

Warning! Do Book Early as the Spring to Autumn season is all "peak" and this place is the first to book up. And for good reason!

Room Tip: All rooms are fine. All have private baths but, due to the construction of the original house, are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I just returned home after a 3 day stay at the Marlborough House. Amy and Troy were just wonderful. They couldn't do enough for our group of birders. The bedrooms were very comfy, each with a private bath just down the hall. The breakfasts were incredible! Each morning featured a different hot entree, plus lots of fresh fruit and baked goodies. We could set our breakfast time the night before (between 6 a.m. and 9:30 a.m.), depending on when we wanted to leave for Point Pelee. I highly recommend the Marlborough House to anyone wanting a first-class place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Thanks to our hosts for making our stay so enjoyable. Our first impression to the last were first class all the way. The property is beautifully maintained inside and out, and is a step back in time. Breakfast was huge and varied so come hungry. Beautiful beds and linens, plush towels, robes and much much more made our stay so comfortable. Thanks for a great weekend!

Room Tip: If you want a really amazing shower, we had the William Douglas room with the King. All 3 rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marlborough House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 49 Marlborough St. West, Leamington, Ontario N8H 1V9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Leamington
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Leamington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marlborough House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Leamington's Premier Bed & Breakfast, located 2 blocks from the Uptown core. Far enough for the relaxed traveler, but yet still in walking distance to restaurants, shopping, The Arts Centre, The Bank Theatre, Imagine Cinema & the Frank T. Sherk Recreation Complex. Located on a tree-lined street showcasing a picturesque corner landscape. Stroll through the beautifully landscaped side & rear yard or enjoy a relaxing dip in the heated pool. Sit back and take in some rays as you sip a glass of locally grown and meticulously crafted wines from one of the numerous area wineries.The Leamington area is famous for being the pre-eminent location in North America to witness the semi-annual migration of birds and butterflies. Naturalists from around the world travel for this event.Your hosts, Amy & Troy Gee, are ready to welcome you to the southernmost tip of Canada.....but don't just take our word for it....come see for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Marlborough House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlborough House Bed & Breakfast Leamington, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlborough House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.