We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We returned!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mekong Restaurant

Mekong Restaurant
394 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario, Canada (Downtown Kingston)
(613) 549-5902
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 363 Restaurants in Kingston
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
ontario, canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We returned!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

When I was working in Kingston at the University the Mekong was my go restaurant for Thai food. In recent years there has been an influx of Thai/Cambodian restaurants in Kingston and we stopped going to Mekong. This past month we decided to give Mekong a visit and discovered that it has not changed. The food is good and plentiful...the restaurant is dated and somewhat non-descript but what the heck....we come for the food and the service.

We had a good experience....lots of good food and a pleasant server....we will return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“We love Vietnamese food....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We eat Vietnamese food a lot as we love it. We like Thai basil in it - and in the rice paper rolls.
No Thai basil in any of those. We asked why, and they told us that they need to drive somewhere to pick it up every two days, and also that people here don't really appreciate it in the meal. Also, the soup we ordered was not the soup that would add basil to. How about rolls.... They were plain -iceberg lettuce, tofu and rice noodles.

Meal was OK, but we had a suspicion that the soup had much MSG - we both can be human detectors of MSG because of how it makes us feel after.

Good things about this restaurant were clean place, nice staff, central location

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Definitely delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We found this restaurant looking to lunch. It had been the best choise! when we get in I saw vietmamese people eating, for me it is good signal.

We ordered phad thai chai, phad thai hai san and pho bo thai, first and seconds ones are spicy stir fried rice noodle with vegetables or shrimp with tamarindo sauce and peanuts. third one is noodle soup with beef. Everything was delicious! and the quantity is generous for good price.

We ate spring rolls too. It was very good too.

Place is clean, service is very good. Family friendly.

When I come back Kingston, I'll be eating there!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“The best vietnamese food I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I've tried to find a restaurant comparable to Mekong in Toronto, but to little success. It had been at least 8 years since I had visited and the food lived up to the memory! I had a vegetarian vermicelli dish with a spring roll and it was fresh and delicious. I will definitely return during my next trip to Kingston!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fresh choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

good service, fresh and reliably good food at a fair price.They have a complete menu and each time I have gone here the food was good

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mekong Restaurant also viewed

Kingston, Ontario
Kingston, Ontario
 

Been to Mekong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mekong Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.