We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as usual for Italian Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of East Side Mario's

East Side Mario's
774 Gardiners Rd., Kingston, Ontario K7M 3X9, Canada
(613) 389-8114
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #231 of 352 restaurants in Kingston
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
KINGSTON
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“As good as usual for Italian Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Other places like Pasta Shelf and Go Italian are better. Good parking beside restaurant and pricing ok.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

37% Recommend
    5
    5
    5
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa ON Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“It was almost what we expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We popped in here for a meal on a Monday evening after being at Fort Henry all day. We were seated reasonably quickly. For a by the Highway, middle of the road type of restaurant it was almost what you expected. This is the ESM on the north end of Kingston up by the 401. Not overly clean - sticky floors and menus. The waitress was very accommodating and came back a few times to see if we had made our decision yet. She was not pushy at all,and was in fact quite helpful and pleasant. My wife found the pizza to be somewhat dry and short on ingredients. I had the "Hells' Kitchen Chicken" chicken with spaghetti - veggies and rice. Gotta say it was quite good. The portion of chicken was small. The rest was ok - rice, salad etc., was very edible, the spaghetti was very good and I am not a pasta freak. I found the price to be a bit high, but it seems that is the norm these days. For a quick Monday evening meal it satisfied by quantity of the lesser expensive components and took about $10.00 more than our usual evening meal out. If you are stuck, it will be expensive but filling. Would we go back ??? Maybe. I know for the price there are better meals to be had in Kingston and not far away.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Patio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We all enjoyed our dinner on the patio. Fast service and pleasant server. Would definitely eat there again when in town.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan, Vermont
1 review
“Fool me once, shame on you: fool me twice shame on me”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Graduation night: Big night , Have anything you want; 2 in party ordered the shrimp and scallops for $18.00.. 3 bay scallops in total for each plate; terrible; philly cheesesteak in a hot dog roll scanty; panne with chicken $16.00 chicken amounted to a tablespoon; salad had to be sent back for more dressing; Lasagna at $17.00 was good but should have been $12.00.

Would have been better at Harvey's next door.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Good value for the money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We went there with our son and his girlfriend and her son and sister witrh my wife for a birthday party. The food was very tasty and reasonably priced. The staff was warm and friendly and very efficient. I thought over all a very good place to have a family gathering at a very reasonable price. I haven't been to a East Side Mario restaurant for years and was pleasantly surprised with good food, great service at very reasonable prices. I would definitely return. A rating of 4 is well desired.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Side Mario's also viewed

 

Been to East Side Mario's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Side Mario's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.