We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sit on the patio, if weather permits!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pan Chancho

Pan Chancho
44 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1A4 , Canada (Downtown Kingston)
613 544 7790
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 363 Restaurants in Kingston
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Wainwright
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sit on the patio, if weather permits!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Went for Sunday Brunch, very busy, but worth the wait! Sat outside, beautiful sunny day, service was efficient & pleasant. Food was very good, a little more adventurous than what I am used to, but that made it even better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    90
    18
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Vincent, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Kingston's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Great place for breakfast, lunch or brunch. Courteous well trained staff. Innovative menu, fresh flavors. This establishment buys local and regional produce, meats and cheese whenever possible. All baked goods are baked on premises. They have a retail market in front of restaurant. You can take home fresh breads, desserts, cheese and deli items. Nice patio for summer time dining.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great bread.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Sometimes when I am downtown, I will get bread from here. The bread is very good to eat by itself, or for a sandwich.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Above average food, snotty staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I'd rather go to Peter's Place, which is 5 seconds away, where the food is just as good, the staff are nicer, faster. Only go to Pan Chancho if you really want bread.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“first time and will return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I went here b/c it was suggested by the bartender @Le Chien Noir. I'm glad I followed his suggestion, it was a nice experience. I'm giving it a solid four out of five b/c I enjoyed breakfast and had a breakfast dessert. Technically speaking it wasn't a dessert for breakfast but we fell into the period of when they were serving lunch and the dessert was offered up on the board, no regrets. The portions were fair and the coffee refills were a bonus. I did find that my serving had too much potato and it could have used another vegetable or even a fruit to liven up the mix but it was overall very good.
The question is, would I go again? Yes I would.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pan Chancho also viewed

 
Kingston, Ontario
 

Been to Pan Chancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pan Chancho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.