We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Luke's Gastronomy - CLOSED

Luke's Gastronomy
264 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1B5, Canada (Downtown Kingston)
(613) 531-7745
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Kingston
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We took a groupon for Luke's Gastronomy, and thought it would be a great way to spend a date night on the town....we were in for a nasty surprise. With no other clientele in sight, an awkward atmosphere, and tiny portions of overpriced food in a dingy dining room, the pretentious service was not appreciated. We went out to try something new....but were disappointed...perhaps we're not artsy-fartsy enough for the culinary "experience" of Luke's Gastronomy.... (Be prepared to fill up on McDonald's accross the road...you won't leave full...).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    5
    8
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Too precious for the likes of me.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Luke is an artist, not a chef. We paid a fortune then went elsewhere to eat because we were hungry. Sorry Luke, I insist on not being hungry after I leave a restaurant. I don't want gargantuan portions but I don't want to leave hungry and ripped off.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A treat for your taste buds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I would travel to the ends of the earth for Luke's and funnily enough eating at Luke's is like the ultimate travel experience for your taste buds. They are constantly surprised, intrigued and delighted by Luke's unique innovations and unthinkable combinations!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A unique adventure for the senses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The food at luke's is absolutely incredible. Yes the portion sizes are small, yes the atmosphere could stand to be updated, but luke's remains, without a doubt, the most interesting, intricate, and artistic culinary experience.

If you are looking for good value, go to McDonalds, it is right across the street. Luke's is an adventure for the senses, a round-the-world trip for the taste buds, and it should be experienced with the same open-mindedness and willingness to explore as a trip to any foreign country.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another amazing meal at Luke's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My family and I had another amazing experience as we returned to Luke's last night. Every single dish was an adventure in itself, from the appetizers to the desserts. My main course was a goat meat dish with coffee powder and a carrot juice. It was called "How goats discovered coffee in Yemen". I was literally transported to Africa as my senses discovered the different smells and flavours. Simply amazing. Luke's isn't for every one though. You have to go with a totally open mind and take all courses for a complete experience. This isn't a restaurant where you just have one main course. Luke is an artist and you must give him the chance to impress you all the way. Just like you can't buy half a painting, you cannot have half a meal at Luke's. It's too bad in my opinion that the decor isn't up to Luke's talent as a chef. But we forget the decor as soon as the dish is served. I will return again and again for a really special dining experience!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luke's Gastronomy also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luke's Gastronomy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.