We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Schnitzel We Have Ever Tasted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amadeus Cafe

Amadeus Cafe
170 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1B1, Canada (Downtown Kingston)
+1 613-546-7468
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 363 Restaurants in Kingston
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Description: This Family owned and operated restaurant has been serving authentic European classic dishes since 1992. The Amadeus offers Old World family recipes prepared with locally sourced ingredients. Meats are sourced through Wendy's Mobile Market - via local farmers. Our extensive beer list offers only the finest crafted German beers available. Our wine list offers wine from around the world and of course wines available locally from the County. During the summer season you will be transported back to Germany was you step foot in our hidden Biergarten. Very green and peaceful this is a pleasant way to spends a summers day. Guten Appetit !!!
Cambridge, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“The Best Schnitzel We Have Ever Tasted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I frequently visit Kingston and we always stop by Amadeus. Been doing it for years. (Sometimes, we just fly in for the day with the sole purpose of having lunch there.) They know us well and have our order memorized. We always go for the "Junior" (it's huge) Schnitzel with rice, Caesar salad and a side of sauerkraut. Love sitting outside in the biergarten when weather permits. Staff are friendly and always happy to see us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    24
    16
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Had hoped for better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

After reading positive reviews and having just returned from a trip to Germany we stopped at Amadeus Café for an early Saturday dinner. I started with the Goulash Soup. While a nice generous bowl of soup it would have benefitted from more than the three pieces of beef that were in it. The bread that accompanied it was fresh and good.

For the mains I had ordered the Holstein Schnitzel, but ended up somehow with the Holland Schnitzel. Nice big portion as well. Unfortunately I did not enjoy the Cheese Sauce that came with it.

My partner had the Hunter Schnitzel, same large portion, same Spaetzle noodles, same vegetables (carrots) with brown gravy. Again, the gravy was nothing special,

Service was good, so was the atmosphere on the patio. But for the price range of these dishes I would have hoped for a better meal. Perhaps it was an off day and perhaps a Wiener Schnitzel and potatoes would have been a better choice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Until we actually went to Germany and Austria on vacation we could only guess that the meals at Amadeus were so authentic, since they are always so delicious. After having been in Germany and Austria I can honestly say that Amadeus rivals the best that Europe has to offer. Fabulous food (first-timers definitely go for the schnitzel) and fantastic service. Amadeus never disappoints!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Consistently good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We've been going here for the last 15 years or so and never had a bad meal. Prices are good for the food you get and it's clear that someone in the kitchen knows exactly what they are doing. The patio outside is a hidden gem in the summer and their bar selection is excellent with some hard-to-find-elsewhere German beers. This is one of the few places in Kingston where I know I'll never have to taste cleaning fluid in my drinks as attention to detail stretches to this area too.

Many of the dishes are built to share and are very hearty. All of the schnitzels I've tried here have been great and I like the breaded sole and sausage dishes. The smoked salmon starter plate is really good too. If you have room make sure to have dessert.

Service is always excellent. This is one of our go-to places in Kingston.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Delicious German Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Amadeus never ceases to amaze us. We first discovered Amadeus 4 years ago. We were in Kingston and decided to walk in - the beginning of our love for Amadeus. Since our first experience, we have visited Amadeus several times. We do not live in Kingston; this does not stop us from making the 3 hour drive to Kingston on the weekend just for Amadeus. The food is always top quality, tasteful, and authentic. We always receive excellent service. We make sure, however, to call in advance to make a reservation as it tends to be busy on some evenings. Every time we visit, we try to eat something new. During our last visit, we began with the assorted sausage platter. For the main course, we chose the Milander Schnitzel, which is served with soup (we picked Goulash Soup), as well as the Pork Tenderloin with Asparagus wrapped in Speck, served with Spatzle. The portions are big, but well-priced. For dessert, we tried the Mozart Crepe. From our appetizer to our dessert, everything was superb. We definitely recommend Amadeus to everyone and will continue to visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amadeus Cafe also viewed

 
Kingston, Ontario
Kingston, Ontario
 

Been to Amadeus Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amadeus Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.