We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Woods Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Woods Inn
1368 Hwy 15, Kingston, Ontario K7L 5H6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Kingston B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Super B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Our short stay at this charming B & B was wonderful. It was peaceful and only a 5 or 10 minute drive into Kingston. The property was beautiful and well-maintained. All four rooms were booked when we stayed and breakfast the next morning was fantastic...lots of fresh home-made food and engaging conversation with the other guests and the hosts. Tessa and Nigel even have a little shop in the guest lounge with special teas and ice-wine filled chocolates. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
46
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Tessa and Nigel are excellent hosts and run an extremely clean and comfortable B&B. Attention to detail is superb and the rooms are very well appointed. Breakfast was a very nice experience especially after lots of hearty but cholesterol laden breakfasts along the journey. The Inn is just outside of Kingston, about 10 min drive but a very good location if carrying onwards towards Thousand Islands etc.Would recommend this establishment to anyone thinking of staying in the Kingston area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Tessa and Nigel are fantastic hosts who focus on what matters: comfort, cleanliness, and happy guests.

I stayed in the Oak Room. It is tastefully decorated with a full ensuite bathroom. The room was clean and the window was open a pinch to let in the fresh May air (I really liked that). My bed was luxurious comfort for a top notch sleep. The sheets, pillows, and blankets are fresh and downy. Although there is a busy road and construction nearby, I felt relaxed and at ease.

Breakfast was heavenly and sweet: crepes filled with strawberries and oranges in an orange blossom syrup served with a poached pear. Just wonderful! I cannot wait to go back to see what else they cook. The loose leaf tea paired with mostly local and organic food suits my taste and habit. Of note, Tessa and Nigel will cater to your allergies (if they can) in a fair and fun way. That is important.

The B & B is well equipped with a comfortable sitting room that has a great coffee maker, maps, and some brochures about the region. There is also a seating area outside so that you can watch the sunset over the trees.

This Bed and Breakfast felt like home. I am making it my go to place in the Kingston area.

Room Tip: Their website has fair and accurate room descriptions. The Oak Room has two lovely windows and a cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Our hosts, Tessa and Nigel, were highly professional, very friendly and most accommodating.
The gourmet breakfast was second to none! We stayed in the Oak Room and loved its elegant yet comfortable atmosphere. This B&B is next to a busy highway. The slight noise from the passing traffic did not bother us in the least. The location, just minutes from downtown Kingston and Highway 401 by car, was very convenient. We are looking forward to a return visit and heartily recommend this B & B.

Linda and Bal, Montreal

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very clean and well equipped all having ensuite bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Our thanks to Nigel and Tessa for a really homey stay. Food is top shelf. Love the detailed and tasty breakfasts. The house was spotless and comfy and none of the couples felt anything but welcome. There are 4 bedrooms and all seem to be large enough to feel roomy. There is a mix of antiques and more modern furnishings. Some have modern style tubs while we elected to go the claw foot route. The location is nice too, it is 4 miles from town so there is a rural feel to it and not the hustle of the busy city. Can't get easier to get there either, 1 mile from rt 401. We had the claw foot tub in our room and it had a "tropical" shower overhead that just runs down and over your head. That was a nice touch if you never had the experience before. The only tv is in the common area and they play music thru a dish antenna or you can turn the programming on to watch the programs. Every detail to suit you has been addressed right down to the lint brush, flash light, and shoe horn. Planning a trip next year and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Thanks Nigel & Tessa for your wonderful hospitality. It was a pleasure to stay with you and enjoy your delicious gourmet breakfasts every morning. You made us feel right at home and offered the best service possible. Your house was charming, clean, cozy and we enjoyed our privacy too. I would recommend anyone to stay here and we will certainly be back when we visit your area.

Mara & Dave

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Thanks Nigel and Tessa for a wonderful stay over our anniversary,we loved the Ash room ,and of course the breakfasts, 1000 boat trip is a must.x

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green Woods Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Woods Inn

Address: 1368 Hwy 15, Kingston, Ontario K7L 5H6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Rideau Heritage Tourism Route, Green Woods Inn is one of Kingston's finest Historic Inns. Offering the peace of a country setting in the city of Kingston, just minutes to the down town core and one mile south of Hwy 401. The Inn has been fully renovated with all rooms having fine cotton linens, luxurious private ensuite bathrooms, central air-conditioning and private on-ground guest parking. Our full gourmet breakfast helps to make your stay an extra-special experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Woods Inn Kingston, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Woods Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Green Woods Inn to your Saves list