We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVE this place! But don't tell anyone!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fardella's Bakery

Fardella's Bakery
Princess st, Kingston, Ontario, Canada
613-389-9444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 363 Restaurants in Kingston
Cuisines: Bakery
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Comox, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“We LOVE this place! But don't tell anyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Can you keep a secret? Just between you and me, this has got to be one of the best places in Kingston for excellent food at a great price. And the desserts... well, you'll be challenged to choose just one.
OK, this place is really casual, I mean REALLY. You place your meal order with the guy at the grill. And check the boards above the grill for specials, of which there are usually lots.
So, you might be thinking that's a bit basic. But, then the food arrives and you can just sit back and enjoy.
Then, if you ordered one of the "$12 Meal Deals" or from the specials, you get to choose a great dessert -- I mean a really huge tasty dessert.
So 12 bucks will get you the main course, a non-alcoholic drink, and a delightful dessert. Where else can you get that kind of value?
BTW, if you're reading this at 2AM and you cannot get dessert out of your mind, the bakery is open 24 hours a day!
So, just so we can always get our favorite table, don't tell a soul about this little gem!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    5
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Not just a bakery anymore!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I had a friend take me out to lunch one day and we tried this place. I live in the subdivision right behind Fardellas. I always purchased birthday cakes here, especially their famous St.Laurent cakes. I knew they had advertised that it was now a 24 hour cafe but I just never made a point of checking it out. What a mistake. This place is really, really good.

The atmosphere is really laid back. Maybe 10 or so tables and very unassuming. Having said that, don't expect to just show up at lunch and find a table. This place is generally quite busy. We arrived just before lunch and were fine.

The menu is veried and everything is made fresh on premises. Most items on the menu are $11.99 currently and that includes your meal, a drink and a dessert of your choice. Trust me, you are full when you leave and your wallet doesn't take a major hit. The food was delicious. The blueberry fritter I had was the size of a catchers mitt and so fresh. I had to find someone else to take to lunch later that week just so I could try other items on the menu.

My next visit might have to be for their breakfast. They serve it all day and it is very inexpensive. Next time you are in the plaza, give it a try. You won't be sorry. So far I can easily recommend the fish and chips and the hot turkey sandwiches. Oh and they still make all occasion cakes!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Finally a restaurant in kingston that I love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Was getting quite discouraged as my son is in kingston for four years at university and I go visit him every month or so. We try and try to find a restaurant in Kingston where the food is good and not too expensive. Eureka we found it at Fardellas bakery super good and all home made with a pleasant homey atmosphere in the place. Totally love it, my new hang out for Kingston brunch, dinner and desserts are all yummy! Love it!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“All three meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

At one time or another we have eaten breakfast, lunch and dinner at Fardella's. Everything we've tried has been good, not exactly gourmet but good tasting, substantial fare.
The service has always been friendly, almost neighbourly. The cook is completely out in the open and will actually ask you questions as to how you want your food. One day he explained how he was trying a new recipe for his lasagna sauce and wanted my honest opinion. It was delicious.
Good food, friendly service, reasonably priced and you have you choice of desert from their table. What more could you ask for?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Just great!! Returning for brekkie is a definite.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Wnt to Kingston for a day trip, left early so we could have breakfast in Kingston. While hubby drove I googled, found this place listed on Yelp and although not downtown which is where we were headed and planned to meander and shop all day by foot, decided it was worth the extra few minutes drive to the last Kingston exit on the westbound 401. Glad we did. Their breakfast/ brunch menu is not huge but is it tasty. Husband had their big breakfast that came with a side of buttermilk pancake that he said was perfectly done - the size of a dinner plate and fluffy (fluffy is a must for it to be a GOOD pancake!) that was along with coffee, eggs, toast, homemade hash browns (not those deep fried grease laden potatoe chunks you get everywhere else). I had a breakfast wrap that had egg bacon cheese and apple. It was just lovely. And of course there are all these fresh baked on premise goodies all around too. We thought it was just great and would certainly come back. but the best part - it was good AND reasonably priced. Brekkie (and our 4 take away baked goody treats) with tip was under $30!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fardella's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Fardella's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fardella's Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.